According to MLB rules, that would depend on the situation. MLB Rule 5.09(f) states that the ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when "A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a fair ball touches an umpire working in the infield after it has bounded past, or over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If a batted ball is deflected by a fielder in fair territory and hits a runner or an umpire while still in flight and then is caught by an infielder it shall not be a catch, but the ball shall remain in play." If the ball hits the umpire first, the ball is dead. If a defensive player touches the ball and then the ball hits the umpire, the ball is live.
A batter being out for throwing his bat is not a Baseball rule -- this is just a rule that leagues put into their own rules for safety and you would have to refer to your league on that ruling. If we are talking MLB -- there is no rule for a batter being called out if he throws his bat
Since the pitcher's plate, or rubber, is in fair territory, it is a fair ground ball. However, if the ball subsequently goes into foul territory inside 1st or 3rd base before being touched by a player or umpire and comes to rest in foul territory, or is touched while in foul territory, it is a foul ball.
if the umpire is inside the base path, then it is a dead ball... no pitch --- if the umpire is outside the base paths then it is a live ball
If the ball hits any part of the line, it is a fair ball, and is not called. The umpire is supposed to stay silent. If the ball lands outside of the line in foul territory, the umpire puts their hands about their head ans says foul. If a ball bounces in fair territory, but leaves fair territory before is passes a base, it is a foul ball. If the ball bounce in fair territory, but it goes foul after passing a base, then is it still considered a fair ball.
The answer to this lies in the definitions listed in Rule 2 of the MLB rule book. FAIR TERRITORY is that part of the playing field within, and including the first base and third base lines, from home base to the bottom of the playing field fence and perpendicularly upwards. All foul lines are in fair territory. A FOUL BALL is a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that bounds past first or third base on or over foul territory, or that first falls on foul territory beyond first or third base, or that, while on or over foul territory, touches the person of an umpire or player, or any object foreign to the natural ground. From these you will gather that home plate is entirely within fair territory so a ball hitting home plate is still "fair". However, if the "you" in this example is the batter, catcher or umpire and the part of their bodies that the ball touches in on or over foul territory, the ball becomes foul at that point and remains foul no matter what happens afterward. If, however, in the umpire's judgement, the contact is made on or over fair territory, and the ball remains in fair territory, the ball would be fair. In addition, if the umpire determine that the bass is fair, and the "you" is the batter, then the batter would be out.
If, in the judgment of the umpire, the action by the batter was intentional, the batter will be called out. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the action by the batter was unintentional, the ball is alive and in play. Rule 6.05(h) states: "After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play"
Once a batted ball is touched by a defensive player in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball regardless if said batted ball returns to fair territory.
As far as MLB goes, MLB rule 6.05(h) states: "A batter is out when after hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire's judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. Rule 6.05(h) Comment: If a bat breaks and part of it is in fair territory and is hit by a batted ball or part of it hits a runner or fielder, play shall continue and no interference called. If batted ball hits part of a broken bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball."If the umpire decides that the batter was not trying to interfere with the ball by dropping the bat where he did, play goes on.
The ball is foul. Once a ball hits the dirt in foul territory before it gets past first or third base, it is a foul ball. It does not matter what happens after that. If a ball hits fair, foul, fair, it is foul. If it bounces foul and then into fair territory, it is foul. If the ball hits fair passed first or third and then bounces foul, it is fair. Those are the rules. You have to hit it past the batter's box. You have to hit it in the lines. It has to stay in the lines. If you lay a bunt down the third base line and it goes foul, it is a foul.It is NOT a foul ball once it hits dirt in foul territory before getting past 1st or 3rd. It is determined fair or foul by where the ball is when touched by a fielder or ends up when the ball has stopped. The ball can roll fair then foul the fair then foul then fair and if the ball comes to a rest or is touched by a fielder in fair play then it is fair. With the umpire calling it foul when it hit the dirt he has made a wrong call, as the ball has not been touched or has not come to rest in foul territory. however with him calling it too soon I think it would be a dead ball and remain with the wrong call of foul.No matter what it should be, whatever the umpire calls it, it is. The umpire is always right even when he is wrong he is right!
If a batted ball hits the mound and then makes it into foul territory before going past 3rd or 1st base and without being touched and without stopping then it would be a foul. If it goes into foul territory after passing 1st or 3rd base, then it is fair. Likewise, if the ball stops moving or is touched by a fielder in fair territory, it is also a fair ball and in play. The key is where the ball stops moving. If the ball stops in fair territory (without having been touched in foul territory), it is a fair ball. If the ball stops in foul territory (without having been touched in fair territory or advancing beyond 1st or 3rd base), it it a foul ball, regardless of the route it took to get there.
No. The umpire calls the ball fair or foul based on where the ball is when the fielder touches it. If the ball is in foul territory when it is touched, the ball is called foul.
Most of the batter's box is in foul territory, but some of it is in fair territory, so it depends where the batted ball comes to rest.
If a batted ball lands in fair territory but then crosses the foul line BEFORE passing or touching first or third base, then it is a FOUL ball. If a batted ball lands in fair territory between first and third base, bounces in the air, and crosses into foul territory before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball, even if caught on the bounce in foul territory by the first or third baseman.