MLB Rule 7.08(b) states a runner is out when:
" He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball;
Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. "
So the answer is yes. It doesn't matter whether the contact was intentional or not, if a runner hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, that runner is called out.
Not sure exactly what you're asking here. Neither a batter nor a base runner may INTERFERE with a fielder attempting to field a ball. If there's contact without interference, nothing happens. If a fielder is blocking the path of a base runner from reaching a base, the runner is definitely permitted to touch that fielder -- up to and including ramming his elbow into that fielder's neck.
Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.
the fielder has the right to field the ball... the runner is OUT if he interferes in ANY way.
If a runner in fair territory is struck by a batted ball prior to the ball having been fielded, the runner is out.
If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.
NO !!! this would not be a fielder's choice its more likely to be scored a hit and a 8 to 6 put out ( it can be a 8 to 4 put out depending on whom is covering the base) ...FIELDER'S CHOICE ... Is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).
No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder
Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.
A baseball field is larger and it has a pitching mound. A softball field has an extended first base to protect the fielder and runner.
If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.
Not sure what you mean by "incidental" contact, but I'll presume you mean can there be contact between a fielder and a base runner, that results in neither interference nor obstruction. The answer is yes. MLB Rule 7.08(b) states that a base runner is out when "He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball." I suppose that physical contact that does not "hinder" the fielder would not result in the runner being called out. The commentary on Rule 7.09(i) give a little more leeway on obstruction: "Obstruction” by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way" So, again, if the contact was not "flagrant and violent," then no obstruction would be called.
This is ruled a Fielder's Choice (FC) in the scorebook. The batter is charged an at-bat, with no hit issued.