answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point.

That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-28 15:00:41
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a ball on a punt is first touched by the kicking team and then touched by the receiving team but then recovered by the kicking team. Does the kicking team get the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a kickoff be advanced by the kicking team if the receiving team does not touch the ball?

According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it


What is illegal touch in football?

On a punt, if the kicking team is the first to touch the ball, it's called an "illegal touch" and the ball is instantly spotted wherever the ball was touched by the kicking team. The receiving team takes over possession from there on a first down.


Does an onside kick have to go beyond ten yards?

If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.


Does the kicking team get any points if the ball lands in the end zone and the receiving does not down the ball and the kicking team does?

On a punt, the ball would simply be given to the receiving team at the 20 yard line. Touchback, no points. That's because the kicking team can't be the first to touch a scrimmage kick (punts, placekicks, dropkicks). If they do touch it first, the ball is dead and still goes to the receiving team. On a kickoff, if the ball went into the end zone and the kicking team recovered, it would be a touchdown for the kicking team. Free kicks are available for either team to recover, provided the ball has traveled at least 10 yards.


If the ball is punted straight up only going 5 yards downfield and is touched by the receiving team and recovered by the kicking team is it a first down even if it didn't pass the first down maker?

no, you still have to gain the required yardage for the first down since there is technically no change of possession. However, if the return team catches the ball, runs and fumbles, then its a change of possession and an automatic 1st down.


Can the kicking team pass the 10 yard mark before the ball on an onside kick?

Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.


On a punt if the kicking team touches but does not down the ball and the receiving team tries to recover but does not get possession and the kicking team recovers. Who's ball?

If a player from the receiving team touches the ball at all on a punt and the ball is still in play, whoever recovers the ball in play gets the ball.AnswerA punt or field goal except a try after touchdown is a scrimmage kick. A scrimmage kick that is recovered behind the line of scrimmage may be advanced by either team. A low scrimmage kick that is touched beyond the line of scrimmage by the receivers is ignored. If the kickers contact the ball beyond the line of scrimmage either intentionally or not they have committed a first touching violation. The ball is then free for the receivers to recover and advance. As long as they do not foul during the down the receivers will have the choice of taking the results of the play or return the ball to the spot of first touching where the receivers will retain possession. As an example a scrimmage kick strikes a kicker after bouncing on the ground. The receiver picks up the ball runs ten yards and fumbles. The ball is recovered by the kickers. Because of the first touching violation the receivers retain the ball where it was first touched by the kickers beyond the line of scrimmage. If the receivers are the first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the line of scrimmage the team that is in possession at the end of the down will be awarded a first down where the ball is recovered. A kick remains a kick unless it is a dead ball or is possessed. A ball that is first touched beyond the line of scrimmage by the receivers may be recovered but not advanced by the kickers. As an example if a kick is touched by the receivers but not possessed by them it is a muff and may be recovered but not advanced by the kicking team. If the receivers possess the kick the kick has ended and if they lose possession of the live ball it may be advanced by either team. And now you know why the kicking game is where most errors occur.


Can the field goal kicking team catch the field goal attempt and run?

yes... they can its happened to me beforeNo. A scrimmage kick can only be recovered by the receiving team. It's exactly the same as a punt: If the kicking team is first to touch the ball, that constitutes an illegal touch. The only way the kicking team could maintain possession after kicking a field goal is if:The kick was no good, and the receiving team fields the ball and then loses possession.The kick was no good, and the receiving team touches the ball first within the field of play and beyond the line of scrimmage.The kick is taken on first, second, or third down, is blocked, doesn't cross the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers.If a team caught its own field goal kick, the ball would be dead where the catch was made, and the opposing team would put it into play from that spot.


Can you advance the ball on an onside kick in the NFL?

The receiving team can advance the ball once they gain possession. The kicking team cannot advance the ball unless it was first in possession of the receiving team.


If a punt is partially blocked is it a live ball allowing the kicking team to recover it?

Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.


When a football is punted and touched by the punting team a receiving team player can pick up the ball with no risk of fuble for how long?

If the football is first touched by the punting team, it's dead at that point.


What are the rules for an onside kick?

The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it. A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return. The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.


What is the likelihood that your stolen car will be recovered?

If not recovered within first three weeks after loss, chances are it will never be recovered. Only about 30% of cars are recovered


In a football game can you recover an onside punt stemming from a safety?

Technically speaking, there's no such thing as an "on-sides punt" in the NFL (or any other league that I am aware of).A punt that moves forward is simply a punt, and if it is touched by a member of the receiving team, it may then be stripped or recovered by a member of the punting team.If it is not touched by a member of the receiving team, it will be marked dead where a member of the punting team first touches it, or whistled dead when it ceases reasonable movement.A punt that goes backwards is considered a live ball and a "muff" or a fumble, which would follow normal rules.


Can a team attempt a feelgo on 3rd down miss the kick then get the ball back on 4th down?

I assume you mean "field goal." Yes, this is possible, if the ball is blocked and never crosses the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers. The kicking team could also recover the ball past the line of scrimmage if the kicking team touched the ball first.


Is kicking legal in a fight?

First of all, fighting is illegal. Which means that kicking is illegal.


Does an onside kick have to travel 10 yards before the receiving team can catch it?

No, the receiving team may attempt to take possession at any time after the kick. It is the kicking team that must wait for the ball to travel 10 yards before they can be the first to touch it. However, should a member of the receiving team touch the ball before it travels 10 yards and fumble/muff it, the kicking team can recover the ball and take possession without penalty.


What is the rule for onside kicks in football?

No member of the kicking team may touch the ball until it has travelled 10 yards from where the ball was kicked unless a member of the receiving team touches it first.


Can you fair catch a kick off in the NFL?

no because after the ball goes ten yards the kicking team may get it and keep it without it touching the receiving team first. Yes, you can. The kicking team can still attempt to field the ball themselves, but they cannot interfere with the player attempting the fair catch.


Can a blocked extra point try be recovered by the kicking team for a 2 point conversion?

In high school, the moment the ball is kicked on a try, the play is dead. In NCAA, if the ball touches the endzone or a player in the endzone, it is a touchback. In all other levels and situations, it works identical to a field goal or punt. It is called a 'scrimmage kick', and if the ball is blocked from behind the line of scrimmage, and offensive player may take possession and run in for a 2-pt conversion. If the kick sails beyond the line of scrimmage, the defense (or 'receiving team', since the kick obviously doesn't make it through the back of the endzone) has to touch the ball. However, attempted blocks near the line of scrimmage are ignored when considering touching by the defense. For more info: if the kicking team touches the ball after the try doesn't make it, it is like when a punt is touched by the kicking team. Regardless of what happens after the touch, the receiving team has the option to take possession at the 'first touching' spot (this is why punt units fully 'possess' the football instead of touching it).


What is the synonym for recovered?

Recovered has two contexts; the first is recovering from something:Timmy recovered from his leg injurysecond is getting something:Amy had recovered her prized trophy1st context Synonyms include:Healedimprovedrecuperated2nd context synonyms include:RetrievedReturnedSavedHope this helps


What country recovered from the great depression first?

China


Which was the first locker touched by both students 3 and 5?

the one touched by 3 and 5....


What are the rules for onside kick?

The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.


An example of newtons first law?

kicking a soccer ball

People also asked

Can the kicking team recover a kicked ball?

View results