The question is the correct assessment.
If a ball travels more than 10 yards, hits the ground in bounds, and the kicking team gains possession of the ball, the ball is dead and the kicking team is on offense.
Yes, as long as no one on either team touches it before the 10 yards. After the ball travels ten yards during a kickoff it is a free ball. That's correct. Once the ball travels 10 yards, anyone can recover it.The receiving team can always recover after anydistance. So if an onside kick only travels 5 yards instead of the required 10 and the receiving team recovers, the receiving team would take possession of the ball at that spot.The 10-yard rule is a restriction on the kicking team only. The kickers cannot recover the ball until is has traveled 10 yards, UNLESS the receiving team touches the ball first. After the receiving team touches the ball, the kicking team can recover, regardless of how far the ball has traveled.
According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it
Yes, if a punt travels untouched into the end zone, whether on a fly or not, it is a touchback to be placed on the 20, unless the receiving team brings it out of the end zone.
Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.
Kickoffs can always be recovered by either team, as soon as the ball travels 10 yards. So regardless of whether the ball hits a player or not, it's available to the first person who can take possession.
As long as the ball ges 10 yards and is grounded at some point during the kick it is a free ball and may be recovered in the field of play by either team.
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
No, the kicking team would need to gain possession of the ball. For kickoffs, the ball is considered a 'free ball' once it travels 10 yards from the spot of the kick. The ball is also considered 'free' if a member of the receiving team touches it, but does not gain full possession, before it travels 10 yards from the spot of the kick. The first team whose player gains possession of the ball is awarded the ball. Touching the ball does not signify possession ... a player must have full possession of the ball for his team to be awarded possession. A lot of 'possessions' in that last statement but that is the qualifier as to which team is awarded the ball. Touching the ball means nothing, possessing the ball means everything.
Receiving sound waves is the process by which sound travels in form of waves and is received by our eardrums to be heard.
After a neurotransmitter travels through the synaptic cleft, it binds to receptors on the receiving neuron, which can either excite or inhibit the receiving neuron's activity. This process helps transmit signals between neurons in the brain and nervous system.
When the ball travels completely across the goal line. It can go in by kicking it or heading it. Players must stay onsides to call it a goal.
There is no penalty. Any touch by the kicking team is considered a "legal touch" as long as the football travels the entire ten yards, no matter if it hits the ground first or not.