A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.
A single is a hit that allows the batter to reach first base safely.
In order to reach base without making contact, a batter could draw a walk, get hit by a pitch, be intentionally walked, or reach first on a passed ball after a strike out (i.e., batter swings and misses, and catcher drops the ball, allowing the batter to reach first base, if first base is free). Without collecting a hit, a batter can also reach first on a fielding error or a fielder's choice, which means that a fielder decided to attempt a defensive play at a base other than first base, allowing the batter to reach first base. You missed a Wild Pitch - wild pitches and passed balls are scored separately.
base on balls, or hit by pitch.
No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.
It's called a triple.
With 0 or 1 outs, the batter is automatically out. With 2 outs, the batter may attempt to reach first base safely. In order to be called out automatically, first base must be occupied by a baserunner.
In baseball or softball, when a batters hits the ball and makes it safely to third base it is called a triple.
In December 1968, Apollo 8 was the first manned spacecraft to reach the moon and return safely. The astronauts aboard did no make a moon landing.
If it hits the umpire behind home plate, it is a foul ball. If it hits a field umpire who is in bounds, then it is a live ball, meaning that the batter might be thrown out at first, or he might reach first base safely (and then this would be scored as a hit without an error),
The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).
They can reach 1st base via walk, error, hit by pitch or fielder's choice.
No. Runner must reach 1st safely.
Yes On the third strike of the third strike out if the ball gets by the catcher the batter can reach first base safely but the at bat is counted as a strike out. The next batter comes up ,strikes out and the cather holds on to the ball this time. Theoretically, if your catcher cannot handle the third strikes, you can have unlimited number of strikeouts in an inning. If every batter reached safely after a dropped third strike (which IS recorded as a strike out for the pitcher), you could lose, say, 20-0 without ever giving up a hit and by striking out every batter.
The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.
The passive form of "Did you reach your home safely?" is "Was your home reached safely by you?" which is very awkward indeed.
When a batter receives four pitches that the umpire calls balls, and is then entitled to reach first base without the possibility of being called out.
The batter can reach on an fielding error, take a walk (four balls), get hit by a pitch, or strike out on a wild pitch and beat the ball to 1st base.
Maybe. If the out is a force out, then a run can't score; however, if the run scores before the runner is tagged out, then the run counts.Correction for Answer:Answer above in incorrect. In order for the run to officially count the batter needs to reach 1st base safely in this situation. It does not matter how the out of the batter is recorded. Any resulting play in which the batter does not reach 1B safely, the run would not count --- this is why even on walk-off hits you will see the batter go to 1B before they start to celebrate, because if he would not touch 1B, then the run would not count, even if the walkoff hit was a HR ----tigersy2k3
Spacesheep is needed to reach Neptune safely.
No. A perfect game is no runs, no hits, no errors and no walks. I believe that rule stands even if the batter does not reach base on an error. Opinion .... yes, it's still a perfect game. The definition of a perfect game is one in which no runner reaches first base (any way, hit, error, hit by ball, etc.). On a foul ball error, if the batter does not reach first base (strike out, any other way), he is still just another one of the 27 outs in a perfect game. Yes. The definition of a perfect game is 27 batters up and 27 batters down without a single batter reaching base safely. An error that does not result in a batter reaching base safely has no bearing on a perfect game.
it can reach about 350 to 500F
Both HAVE and DO are auxiliary verbs, but you can't use DO with "reached." When you use DO as an auxiliary, the verb reverts to its bare form and it is DO that is conjugated. This is called do support and used for emphasis or questions."Have you reached home safely?" (present perfect - have reached)"Does she reach home safely on the bus?" (does reach)"I always do reach home safely." (do reach)
Ty Cobb, Detroit Tigers