Best Answer

Twelve (12). From 1917 to 1946 the Big 10 had ten (10) member schools, The University of Chicago (an original member of the Big 10) withdrew in 1946 and was replaced in 1949 by Michigan State, bringing the total number of schools back to ten (10). In 1990 Penn State became the eleventh member of the Big 10 with no change in the conference name; however the number eleven (11) was outlined in the body of the words "BIG TEN". In 2010 Nebraska became the twelfth member of the Big 10, with the letters i and g in the word "BIG" forming the number ten (10) to represent the original ten (10) member schools. Prior to the unofficial naming of the conference in 1917, seven (7) universities (University of Chicago, University of Illinois, University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Purdue University and the University of Wisconsin) met in 1895 and formed The Western Conference, adding two (2) more schools in 1899 (Indiana & Iowa), loosing Michigan in 1908 before the Wolverines return in 1917. Ohio State joined in 1912.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-22 18:41:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many teams play in the big ten conference?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many teams play in the big ten conference in the NFL?

0, there is no Big Ten conference in the NFL

How many football teams play in the big ten conference?

There are more than 10 teams in the Big Ten conference For 2014 there is either 14 or 16 teams

How many footbal teams play in the big ten conference?

Twelve. The University of Nebraska joined the conference this year.

What college teams play in the Rose Bowl?

The winner of the Pac-12 conference plays the winner of the Big-10 conference.

How many Southwest conference teams went to the big eight?

Four of the former Southwest Conference teams joined the Big 12: Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Baylor and Texas University.

How many baseball teams are in the big 12?

If you mean the Big 12 college conference..all 12 schools field baseball teams.

How many teams are in the big east conference?

Seventeen. Sixteen are full time and one is an associate.

How many football teams from the troubled Southwest Conference defected to the Big Eight?

four 4

What are some universities that play football in the Big 12 Conference?

The Big 12 Conference is a midwest conference. Teams include Texas, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Baylor, Kansas State, Kansas, Iowa State, TCU, and West Virginia.

What is the number of college football teams that belong to the Big Ten conference?

The Big Ten keeps on expanding. Currently, due to the inclusion of Rutgers and Maryland, the conference has 14 teams.

What conference does mizzou play in?

the big 12 conference you dumby!

How many teams are in the Big Ten Conference?

There are 12 teams in the Big Ten Conference, and they are Ohio State, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin, Penn State, Iowa, Purdue, Indiana, Michigan State, Northwestern, Minnesota, and Nebraska, Maryland, and Rutgers.

People also asked