Best Answer

Only Brazil has kept the world cup in 1970.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card

When was Kimia Aqqala F.C. created

See all cards
2 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many teams had to keep the world soccer trophy?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who got to keep the original World cup soccer trophy?

It was Brazil after winning it for the third time.

What is the rule to keep the world cup trophy for good?

The world cup from the year 1970 onwards is a rotating trophy.

When did the World Cup trophy change?

because Brazil won the trophy 3 times so they go to keep it who ever wins the world cup 3 times with same trophy keeps it

Did the winners of the prudential cricket world cup keep the trophy with them?


Why did Brazil get to keep this trophy?

They got to keep the Jules Rimet in 1970 because they had won the World Cup 3 times. This was written in the original rules of the Trophy when it was first awarded in 1930.

Who got to keep the world cup trophy?

Brazil, after winning it for the third time in 1970.

What year was the World Cup stolen?

The Jules Rimet Trophy, which was the original World Cup Trophy, which had been used since 1930 was stolen in March 1966 from an exhibition in London. It was found a week later. When Brazil won their third World Cup in 1970, they were awarded the trophy to keep. And in 1983 it was stolen in Brazil and never recovered. The current trophy is called the World Cup Trophy and has been used since 1974.

Who got to keep the original world cup trophy?

The original world cup, or the Jules Rimmet trophy was a rotating cup with a rule then that a country that wins the world cup for the third time ever can keep it for good. Brazil won their third world cup in 1970.And so kept it.It was later stolen.

Does the winning team keep the world cup trophy or does it rotate around as other team win?

No. They get a gold plated replica, FIFA keeps the original.

Who won the world cup 3 times first?

Brazil were the first team to win the World Cup three times. They won in 1958, 1962 and 1970. In 1970 there were three teams who had won twice, Brazil Uruguay and Italy. The 1970 final between Brazil and Italy saw winners Brazil keep the Jules Rimet trophy for good and a new trophy was made for the next World Cup in 1974.

Do you keep the world cup if you win it 3 times?

The rule is that you keep it if you win it 3 times. They are kept, if you win it. So right now since Italy won in 2006, they still have it. If a new winner comes, like lets say Spain, Italy will pass down the trophy to Spain. And Spain will keep it for the next 4 years. But lets say Argentina wins it, they keep the trophy for good. Because the rule is, if you have won 3 World Cups, you keep the third trophy. When that trophy is gone, they'll bring in a new one. Unless they changed the rule.....

Why do some countries keep winning the world cup?

They have better teams