Best Answer

The Kentucky Derby is a single race. Tthere are about 12 races held at Churchill Downs on Derby Day.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-09-17 18:45:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many races are there in the Kentucky Derby?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How many races were there in Kentucky Derby?


Why are horses important to Kentucky?

there are horse races in kentucky - kentucky derby

What breed of horse races in the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is a race for Thoroughbred horses.

What kind of sports are in Kentucky?

A sport that is in kentucky is horse racing. There are over 500 farms in Kentucky alone, and many famous races such as the Kentucky Derby.

What is the Kentucky Derby famous for?

The Kentucky Derby is famous as it is considered one of the most prestigious horse races in America. The Kentucky Derby is held at the Churchill Downs race track.

How many stake races did the original owner of the track where the Kentucky Derby is run set up What were names of these races What were the names of the races he wanted them to be similar to?


What is the length of the Kentucky horse race?

By 'Kentucky Horse Race' I'll assume you mean Kentucky Derby as there are hundreds of races in Kentucky. The Derby is a mile and one fourth in length.

What type of horse races in the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is limited to Thoroughbreds registered with the Jockey Club and three years of age.

Why did the Kentucky Derby start?

Well it all started because of the horse races in Kentucky.

Which three races make up the triple crown in the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is the first race in the Triple Crown. The Preakness in Maryland and the Belmont Stakes in New York are the other two races in the Triple Crown.

What are the three major horse races?

Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont

How many horses race in the KY derby?

The Kentucky Derby is limited to twenty starters. The horses must have earned over a certain amount of money in graded stakes races to qualify to race in the derby.

What are the three races of the triple crown?

belmont stakes preakness kentucky derby.

What three races make up the triple crown in horse races?

the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes

What are the three triple crown races and in which order?

The kentucky derby The Preakness stakes The Belmont stakes. In that order. :)

Who was the youngest jockey to win in the Kentucky Derby?

The youngest Kentucky rider was an African American teenager 15 years old by the name of Alonzo Lonnie Clayton. He ran many races between 1875 and 1902. On May 11, 1892 he became the youngest rider to win in the Kentucky Derby.

Why did Queen Elizabeth attend the Kentucky Derby?

Queen Elizabeth is a fan of horse races.

Where are the 3 triple crown races?

The Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes.

What three races make the triple crown?

The U.S Triple Crown races are: Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont Stakes.

What kind of sport is the Kentucky Derby?

Thoroughbred horse racing is the sport that's practiced at the Kentucky Derby. The races have been held yearly, since the first one in 1875. The track is located in Louisville, Kentucky.

What is the significance of the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is America's oldest continuous sports event. The first Kentucky Derby was run in 1875, and was won by a horse named Aristides. It has been run every year since. It is also one of the richest races in America, offering a $2,000,000 purse. The Kentucky Derby is the pinnacle of horse racing. Every trainer, owner and jockey aims to win it.

How many place winners receive money in the Kentucky Derby?

In betting, only the first 3 finishers receive money in the Kentucky Derby (and all horse races). However, in terms of purse distribution, money is paid out to the top 5 finishers in the Derby. Prior to 2005, only the top 4 Derby finishers received any purse money.

Which is shorter the Preakness or Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is run at 1 1/4 miles and is the 2nd longest of the Triple Crown races. The Preakness is the shortest and is run at 1 3/16 miles.

In the Kentucky Derby what does win place and show mean?

In the Kentucky Derby -- and all thoroughbred races -- "win" in the horse that comes in first, "place" is the horse that finishes 2nd, and "show" is the horse that finishes 3rd.

What was the only race that Native Dancer lost?

He was 21 for 22 races. He lost in the Kentucky Derby.