Best Answer

The Kentucky Derby is limited to twenty starters. The horses must have earned over a certain amount of money in graded stakes races to qualify to race in the derby.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-12-11 23:56:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many horses race in the KY derby?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How many horses are from KY that have won the KY derby?


How many people does the KY derby seat?

The KY Derby is an annual horse race held at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky. The race location can seat around 10,000 people and is approximately 1 and 1/4 miles long.

What is the length of the KY derby horse race?

A mile and a quarter.

What is official sister race to KY derby?

Churchill Downs

What is the city Louisville KY known for?

the city of Louisville KY is known for the Kentucky derby at Churchill down and the events leading up to the derby which is called the derby festival it includes the steam boat race, the hot air ballon race and thunder over Louisville

What kind of race is the Kentucky Derby?

The Kentucky Derby is a Grade 1 Stakes race run on a dirt course at a distance of 1 1/4 miles. It is restricted to 3 year old thoroughbred horses. It is run on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs in Louisville, KY. It is the first race of three in the Triple Crown.

Are the horses male and female in Ky Derby?

They are male- with 3 exceptions in history.

What is the oldest horse race in the US?

Kentucky Derby held annually in Louisville, KentuckyThe Travers at Saratoga is the oldest horse race in the US, not the KY Derby

When and were did the Kentucky Derby race start?

The race was first run in 1875, at Churchill Downs in Louisville, KY (the same place it's held today). The first winner was Aristides.

What race is the Kentucky derby?

The Kentucky Derby is a horse race for three-year-old Thoroughbreds over a distance of one and a quarter miles (2 km) at Churchill Downs, 700 Central Ave. Louisville, KY 40208, USA

Does a horse have to be bred in KY to be eligible for the KY derby?


How long is a horse race track?

They vary in length, but as your question is posted in the KY Derby category I will say one and one quarter miles since the Derby is held at Churchill Downs and that is the length of that particular course.

Why is the Kentucky Derby so special to horse racers?

Kentucky has a long history of producing some of the fastest race horses throughout the world, and, due to its famous thoroughbred Breeding programs, has produced many other attractions to keep people coming back to bet on their favored horses In addition, the KY Derby is special to the world of American sports in general, as it is the longest continually held sporting event in the U.S. and one of the longest in the world. The Super Bowl, the World Series, the Masters, the Indy 500--none of these have been held for 138 consecutive years as has the Derby (first running was in 1875).

Do they hold separate races for filly and colt for triple crown?

Absolutely NOT! A filly is a young female horse...A colt is a young male horse!!! They usually race 2-3 yr. olds in the triple crown, which if I'm not mistaken, is maturity age for horses. I could be wrong, but I don't think so!The age for horses to race in the 3 Triple Crown races--the KY Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes--is specifically 3 yrs. of age. Fillies are most welcome to run in any of the races and a very limited number have won. In order they are:Regret won the KY DerbyGenuine Risk won the KY DerbyWinning Colors won the KY Derby (1988)Rachel Alexandra won the Preakness (2009)Rags to Riches won the Belmont (2007)There is, however, an "unofficial" TC for fillies, known as the "Triple Tiara" that consists of: the Acorn Stakes run at Belmont and the Coaching Club American Oaks and the Alabama Stakes, both run at Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Where is the Oaks Horse race held?

Epsom Answer : The Oaks is held at Churchill Downs in Louisville, KY. It is always the day before The Kentucky Derby. It is known as The Derby for Locals because people from Kentucky and the surrounding areas go that day.

What horses or years did Garth Patterson ride in the Ky derby?

Twist The Axe- 1971 Best Person- 1977 Biloxi Indian- 1984

Who won the Ky derby in 2011?

Animal Kingdom won the Kentucky Derby in 2011.

What is the home of the Kentucky Derby?

Louisville, KY

Where is the Kentucky Derby race track located?

The Kentucky Derby is run at Churchill Downs located in Louisville, Kentucky. The address of Churchill Downs is: Churchill Downs 700 Central Ave. Louisville, KY 40208

Who gives out the KY derby trophy?

John Callipari

What year was the 100th running of the Ky derby?


What horse won 2012 KY derby?

I'll Have Another

What horse won Ky derby in 2007?

Street Sense

When did secretariat win KY derby?

May 5th, 1973.

What jockey rode foolish pleasure in the Ky derby?

1975 Jacinto Vasquez rode Foolish Pleasure in the Kentucky Derby.