Best Answer

There are three divisions, Division I, Division II and Division III.

Not all divisions sponsor all sports. For instance, Ice Hockey is not sponsored by the NCAA in Division II. Member institutions at the Division II level who sponsor the sport participate at the Division I or Division III level.

Division I is also subdivided in the sport of football. Previously known as Division I-A and Division I-AA, the subdivisions are now referred to the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS, respectively.

The two major differences between the subdivisions are scholarship levels (FBS allows a total of 85 players to receive any level of scholarship while the FCS allows 63 full scholarship equivalents that may be divided between more than 63 players) and championship sponsorship. In the FBS, the NCAA does not sponsor a championship. For instance, Florida State won the "national championship" following the 2013 season, but Florida State is not "NCAA champions" in football. In the FCS, the NCAA sponsors a tournament to determine the national champion. Following the 2013 season, North Dakota State won the tournament and can claim both the title of "national champion" and "NCAA champion."

User Avatar

Wiki User

2014-01-13 08:58:23
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
2 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many divisions are in NCAA?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked