Best Answer

There are usually three cups, each a separate sponsored entity, but all under the supervision of the English FA, and they are:

The FA Cup- One of the oldest cups in the history of soccer/football, it's inaugural tournament was held in the 1871-72 season, though many of the clubs we know today had not been formed yet. Manchester City are the latest winners of this trophy.

The League Cup- Also known as the Carling Cup, due to it's main sponsor, Carling. Birmingham City are the latest winners of the League Cup, but have been relegated to the n.power League Championship as well.

The Community Shield- Played between the winners of the league and the winners of the FA Cup. If the league winners win the domestic double, comprising of both the league and cup, the runner's up from the league play in the community shield. Manchester United beat Manchester City 3-2 to win the latest edition of the Community Shield.

The Community Shield's counterpart in Spain is the Super Cup de Espana, and in Italy is known as a supercup.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many cups are in the barclays premier league?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many teams play in Barclays premier league?


How many soccer players are there in the barclays premier league?


How many title have arsenal won?

13 League Titles (3 of them in the Barclays Premier league) 10 FA-cups 2 League cup 1 European Cup

How many times has Queens Park Rangers won the Barclays Premier League?

Queens Park Rangers have never won the Barclays Premier League, or the old First Division equivalent of it.

How many teams in the Barclays Premier League are managed by Scottish managers?


How many times have man city won the Barclays premier league?


How many appearances has seen David Beckham dismissed in the Barclays Premier League?


How many barclays premier league trophies for manchester united from 1990-2009?

It was called the Barclay's premier league until 1992 , before that it was the English 1st devision. Since 1992 Manchester united have won 11 premier league titles.

How many premier league cups have arsenal fc won?


How many players have made appearances for both Sir Alex Ferguson and David Moyes in the Barclays Premier League?


How many time did Manchester United win cups?

18 premier league cups but this year 19

How many different teams have won their division in the Barclays premier league since 2000?

3: Arsenal, Manchester United, and Chelsea