answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

depends on how many innings there are and what the ptcher throws at the batter. the max number of balls thrown could be 2 strikes and 3 balls.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-15 11:39:07
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many chances does the batter have to hit the ball before running to first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Who gets to first base first - left or right handed batter?

A right handed batter would get to first base first because a left handed batter has to take extra time turning around to start running.


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


Can the runner retreat toward home to avoid being tagged before reaching first base?

A batter exiting the batter's box and running to first need not be tagged at all as a player on the opposing team needs only to tag the base while in possesion of the ball.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


What does the batter do if he or she hits the ball fair?

Drop the bat, and start running to first base.


What is the rectangle used for on the foul side of the first base line on the baseball field?

The batter is supposed to stay within the rectangle when running to first base. If the batter is outside the box and gets hit with a thrown ball, they can be called out for running outside the baseline.


Does a batter have to drop his bat at first base after hitting a home run?

A batter must release the bat "as soon as safe and practical" while running to first base. He cannot carry it with him or he will be ruled "out."


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


If a runner from third crosses home before fielder tags runner running from first on batted ball does run count?

If you mean that there are already two outs, then, no, the run does not count. Any time the batter is put out before reaching 1st base, it is considered a force out. Therefore, no run counts on a play where the batter makes the 3rd out before reaching 1st base.


If a batter hits a foul ball that is caught by the first base coach in front of first base just before the first baseman can catch the ball is the batter out on interference?

yes


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Can a runner from third base score if the batter is tagged out for the third out?

If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.


Is the batter out if a batted ball hits him as he's running to first base?

If the batter is outside the batter's box, and is in fair territory when the ball hits them, then yes they are out. If they are in the box, or in foul territory when the ball hits them, it is just a foul ball.


What happens if a batter hits a ball that hits first base before the batter gets there?

Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.


In baseball what is the extra line-box going down the first base line and what is the ruling for a batter-runner going to first base Does he have to stay within that box?

That extra line creates a "running box". When a batter puts the ball in play, while running to first base he must run in that box until reaching first. If not, he may be called for interferrence should a fielder, usually the catcher, throw to first and hit the batter/runner if he is outside the box in fair or foul territory.


Why should you run disk cleanup before running disk defragment?

Cleanup comes first before Defragmenter. Say, C comes first before D.


What are three ways a softball batter can get out?

There are many ways that a batter can get out. * They can get a strike out. (The ball is thrown in the strike zone and the batter doesn't hit it 3 times) * They can get an out at first. (The batter hits the ball somewhere in the field and the fielder throws the ball to first before the batter lands her foot on the bag making a force out) * Be called out by umpire for leaving bag too early for a lead off.(If the batter gets a head start for the next bag they are going to before the ball leaves the pitchers hand then the batter is called out by the umpire)


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


Do you put the cupcake holders when you bake them?

No. You but in the cupcake holders before you bake them. First put the batter. Then you squeeze or what ever the batter in the cupcake holders. And then you bake.


In slow pitch softball if the batter-runner is hit by his own batted ball while running to first base he is out can the runners on base advance or must they remain at their base?

batter is out, runners do not advance


Can the batter be called out on a bases loaded walk if he does not advance to first?

yes- if goes out of the baseline before he touches first base, he is out.


Other than a strike out fly out or ground out what are the 6 other ways a batter can be called out before reaching first base?

Not sure about all six, but the batter can be out if (s)he bunts foul on strike two (this is actually a strikeout), steps on the plate while bunting the ball, steps on the plate while hitting the ball, hits the ball when it is determined that the batter is out of the batter's box, touches the ball in fair territory with the body while out of the batters box, is hit by a throw to first from behind if not running in the outlined base running area between home and first, is hit by a pitch that is in the strike zone if (s)he intentionally positions a part of the body in a way that results in the ball hitting him/her.


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


In baseball what happens if a batter inadvertantly kicks the baseball while running to first base?

If he is running outside the baseline as he legally should, it's a foul ball. If he happens to be in the field of play he's out.