Best Answer

Eight british drivers won the championship :

Mike Hawthorn (1958)

Graham Hill (1962 and 1966)

Jim Clark (1963 and 1965)

John Surtees (1964)

Jackie Stewart (1969, 1971 and 1973)

James Hunt (1976)

Nigel Mansell (1992)

Damon Hill (1996)

User Avatar

Wiki User

2008-05-06 18:31:03
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How many British drivers won the F1 World Championship?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many drivers have won a Formula 1 World Championship in their debut season?

No one till now has won a World Championship in their Debut

How many British drivers have won a Formula 1 World Championship race at the British Grand Prix in their debut season?

You should be able to get that info from the link. See the Related Links for "Formula One Records" to the bottom for the answer.

How many British drivers competed in the 2008 F1 World Championship?

The british drivers who competed in the 2008 season are: 1. David coulthard - Red bull racing 2. Jenson Button - Honda 3. Anthony Davidson - Super Aguri 4. Lewis Hamilton - McLaren Mercedes

How many times have Ferrari won the World Championship in Formula 1?

Ferrari has won the Constructors Championship 16 times in:1961196419751976197719791982198319992000200120022003200420072008Ferrari has won the Drivers Championship 15 times in195219531956195819611964197519771979200020012002200320042007

How many times did sir jack Brabham win the world drivers championship?

3 times - 1959, 1960, and 1966

How many points does Lewis have in the drivers Championship?

He is at 94 points.

How many German drivers have won the German Grand Prix?

Only two German drivers have ever won the German Grand Prix as a World Championship event - Michael and Ralf Schumacher.

How many drivers have won a Formula One World Championship in their debut season?

Till date, no formula 1 driver has won the world championship in their debut season. But, there are some drivers who have won multiple races in their debut season. Jack Villeneuve in 1996 and Lewis Hamilton in 2007 are the two drivers who have won 4 races in their debut season and that is the most that any driver has won in his debut season.

How many Australian have won the formula one Drivers World Championship?

Only 2 different Australians has won a Formula 1 Drivers Champion and they are Jack Bradham and Alan Jones. In the years 1959,1960,1966 and 1980.

How many players have won the British Open golf championship?


How many championchips cm punk won?

1 ECW Championship 2 world heavyweight championship 3 world tag team championship 4 intercontinental championship

How many times has Jenson button been champion in Formula 1?

Jenson button is the current reigning F1 world drivers champion. This year 2009 is his first and only F1 world racing drivers championship. He drove for the Brawn GP team. The team won both the drivers and constructors title in their debut year.

People also asked