answersLogoWhite

0

How does a pitcher get a save?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:12:00

Best Answer

Any relief pitcher can come in and pitch at least three innings EFFECTIVELY and get a save. Here is rule 10.20 from the MLB.com site on June 2nd.

Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-07-15 19:12:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How does a pitcher get a save?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How does a pitcher get a save in baseball?

A pitcher can get a save in baseball when his team is winning by three or less. It can be a 5 out svae or 3 out save. Sometimes there are other ways.


Can a MLB pitcher get a save in extra innings?

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.


Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

He gets a save


How many innings does a pitcher have to pitch to get a save in the MLB?

A single out is enough to get a save. To get a save a pitcher has to record the game ending out, and has to have entered with a lead of 3 runs or fewer, or with the tying run at the plate or on deck. If a pitcher throws the game's final 3 innings he can get the save regardless of how big a lead his team had when he entered.


Most save opportunities for a pitcher in a season?

A save is credited to a pitcher who finishes a game with a certain number of saves or percentage of save opportunities. Mariano Rivera is the MLB's leader in one season's saves with 652.


What are the rules for a save for a pitcher?

Relieving pitcher finishing the game and his team wins, with relieving pitcher coming in while his team is already winning.


Can a save be earned by the visiting team pitcher in extra innings in MLB?

Yes, the pitcher who pitched the bottom of the previous inning would get the win and if a new pitcher is used in the bottom of the next inning and holds the lead, he would get the save.


Does the pitcher before the save get the win?

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.


What has to happen for a pitcher to save the game?

the pithers team has to be winning by 3 or less runs to save the game A pitcher must enter the game after the fifth inning, his team must be three or less runs ahead, and the pitcher must preserve the lead.


Is it possible for a pitcher to be credited for a win and a save in the same game if he goes to another position and then comes in the get the final out?

no. According to the rulebook a save can only be awarded to a pitcher who is not already being considered for the win.


Has anyone ever blown 2 saves in same game?

No, by definition that is not possible. Should a pitcher stay in the game after blowing a save and the team retakes the lead, the pitcher would be in line to get a win and not a save.


Does the new pitcher in the top of the seventh inning of a 1-0 ballgame get the win or a save?

If the relief pitcher pitches 3 innings, and completes the game, and never gave up the lead, he would get a save.

People also asked