It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.
If the scorer believes that the runner would have been safe either way no error is awarded if the runner does not advance further. If the runner would have been out then the scorer gives the error to either the fielder or the catcher depending on the throw.
only if he's black.
Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.
The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.
If the batter is tagged out before he reaches first base it is still considered a force out and the runner cannot score, however if the batter crosses first base safely and then is tagged out, the run counts if the third base runner crosses home plate before the batter is tagged out.
A defensive player can appeal to the umpire that a runner missed touching any base.
Sure. The runner on 3rd base can tag up and score. The runner on 2nd may not even be able to advance to 3rd base, especially if the fly ball is to left field. To further clarify..a base runner may not pass another base runner who is ahead of him..so, if your question means can a runner on 2nd or 1st, tag up and score if the runner on third doesn't, the simple answer is no...however, in a rare case they could. Let's assume that the runner on third tags up, but is thrown out at home and it is not the 3rd out of the inning, then the catcher either throws the ball away, or otherwise loses the ball, the other runner or runners may then advance and score. The batter, though, is not credited with a Sacrifice Fly, nor an RBI.
Yes, a runner may slide into any base at any time.
No. For it to be a sacrifice fly, a runner must score.
The pinch runner gets credit for the stolen base, and for any run he might score.
The out will be credited to the fielder that tagged the base on the appeal. Example: runner misses 3rd base, defensive team appeals by throwing to 3rd base, 3rd baseman tags 3rd base, umpire calls the runner out, 3rd baseman is credited with the out.
I am unsure in the scorebook, however the runner is out and the batter is oddly awarded a base hit.
When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base
If the ball is caught and there is less than 2 outs and it is deep enough for the runner to score it is called a sacrifice fly ball
When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.
No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.
When the batter is standing on the plate.
missed third strike No, a Wild Pitch.
It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.
1. A passed ball on a pitch, and runner scores. 2. A 3rd strike and catcher misses the ball, overthrowing at first, runner scores. 3. A squeeze play, missed bunt, with catcher missing the ball, runner scores.