Best Answer

No. Prior to 1969, there were no division in either league. Whichever team in each league had the best regular season record was the league's representative in the World Series. So, prior to 1969, only one team from each league made the playoffs and the only playoff round was the World Series. Starting in 1969, each league divided its teams into two divisions, the East and the West. The winners of the divisions would play each other in a playoff series (American/National League Championship Series) and the winner of that series would be the league's representative in the World Series. Two teams made the playoffs from each league and there were two rounds in the playoffs. Starting in 1994, each league was divided into three divisions, the East, Central, and West. The winners of each division would make the playoffs along with the one non division winner that had the best overall regular season record from each league. Four teams make the playoffs from each league. This is currently how the playoffs are done in MLB. There are three rounds in the playoffs, the American/National League Divisional Series, American/National League Championship Series, and the World Series.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-04-19 18:26:31
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


See all cards
1 Review

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Has the Major League Baseball playoffs always have 3 rounds starting with 8 teams?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many major league teams in the playoffs?

There are always four teams from the National League and four from the American League.

Why was reggie Jackson called mrOctober?

Because of his tremendous showings during the baseball playoffs! He was at his best during the playoffs, which are always held in October.

When did Major League Baseball go from two baseballs to one baseball?

it has always been 1 baseball . idiot

Is there little league baseball in Japan?

yea they almost always make it to tthe little league world series

Why do American league teams play against national league teams?

Starting in 2013 there will be 15 teams in each league (currently there are 16 in the National League and 14 in the American League but Houston will be moving to the AL starting next year). Because there are an odd number of teams, there will always be one team from each league that will have to play outside their league.

What month is the 2009 Stanley cup?

Playoffs are always in April

What number has Robinson Cano worn?

As a Major League baseball player he has always worn #24.

Who is the only major league baseball team to always open season at home?

the cincinnatti reds

What is the only Major league Baseball team that always opens the season at home?

The Cincinnati Reds

What is the latest an inning can begin in a major league baseball game?

I always thought a new inning could not begin after 1 a.m. But I must be wrong; last night's Tiger-Yankee game lasted until 3:20 a.m. Perhaps the 1 a.m. rule is for the playoffs.

Was the NBA playoffs always been a 7 game series?

i guess it has

How many days til opening day or Major league baseball?

Always starts at the beginning of April.

People also asked