A baserunner on 1st is not forced unless the batter hits a ground ball, a base hit on a fielding error (he is also forced to advance on a walk, hit batter, catcher interference, etc.). The runner is not forced on a fly ball unless it is dropped or falls in for a hit. If a fly ball is caught, the runner is not forced, but may choose to "tag up" and try to advance to 2nd after the catch. If a fly ball is dropped, the runner need not tag up before advancing to 2nd. THEY CAN RISK IT...BUT IF THE BALL IS CAUGHT HE HAS TO GET BACK TO FIRST BASE.....OR IT WILL BE A DOUBLE PLAY....BUT THEY DONT HAVE TO TAG UP Just to clarify. If a fly ball is caught, the runner on 1st may try to advance, but to do so, he must be on 1st base, or return and touch 1st base, before attempting to advance. The "tag up" must take place after the ball is caught by the fielder.
As long as the run crosses the plate before the runner not tagging-up was put out then the run would count. (assuming the 2nd out ends the inning) -- if there was 0 outs then it does not matter when the run scored in relation to the 2nd out --- now in an instance where there was an appeal and the other runner was called out -- the run that scored would still count
Basically it is like any other situation in that instance... if the run scored before the out it counts
The runner is allowed to leave as soon as the ball touches the glove as that is the beginning of the catch.
The runner has to wait for the outfielder to catch the ball, then they can tag up and run to the next base at their own risk.
Yes, if they do not tag up, the ball can be thrown to the base from which they left and that is an automatic out.
when the ball is touched, it's officially in play and the tagged runner can run.
Yes! Under rule 2.00 'Definition of Terms': "Runners may...retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball".
Umm Yea really anybody that's playing deffense during that inning can catch an infield fly hell even a center feilder could catch an infield fly if he's fast enough
He is the guy who plays 2nd Base in the infield during a baseball game
Unless replenished, a runner will dehydrate during a race.
Fielding practice, I believe. Also, possibly, a way of showing off a little for the fans. I believe that it's an age old tradition meant to keep the fielders' arms warm during the middle of the game.
Glaciers are advancing and retreating all the time. During the summer most will be retreating, during the winter most will be advancing. Therefore the world is not in a 'glacial advance or retreat' because each glacier is independent.
During an infield choice, the at-bat is counted and the hitter is not given a hit, nor does it increase their On-Base Percentage.
During the marathon, three runners collapsed from exhaustion.
Bonds has never played an infield position during his time in MLB. He played 2,715 games in left field, 171 games in center field, 1 game in right field, and 39 games as designated hitter.
The players of the team in the field may play wherever they choose. The coach may position his players anywhere on the field. If the coach does position his outfielders closer to the infield he may want to have his pitcher throw his pitches low in the strike zone to increase the chance of a ground ball being hit.
the battle of bulge ? in the allied army and stop the allies from advancing in germany....