answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, you can't. The ball must land on your side of the table first before you can return it.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, ITTF rules say that you must let the ball hit your side of the table before returning it. If you hit it before it hits your court, its called an obstruct.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes, the ITTF rules say you have to let the ball hit your side of the table in any return. If you do hit the ball before it hits your court, it is called a obstruct.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes, it does. - i.e. it must land on the opponent's side of the table before the opponent can hit it back to you (unlike tennis).

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

No, the only time that the ball can/must hit your side of the table after hitting it, is on a serve. If it is not a serve, then it can not hit your side after hitting it.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the ball have to touch the table before striking it in ping pong?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you hit the ball in table tennis before it touches your side of the table?

No the ball must touch your side of the table before you can hit it


What is the arc before striking the golf ball called?

Perhaps you are going for back swing.


What is striking in golf?

In the simplest terms, striking is hitting the ball.


Can a player inbounding ball advance it down the court before another teammate touches the ball?

The player inboundin the ball can throw it all the way down the court, but someone else has to touch the ball once inbounded before the person inbounding the ball to touch it


Do you have to touch the ball on in indirect kick in soccer?

The kicker and one other player must touch the ball before a goal may be scored.


If the striking batsman hits the ball and runs arriving to the non striking batsman's crease but the non striking batsman never leaves his crease who is out if the striker wicket is hit by the ball?

it is the striking batsman who ran


Are you safe or out if you touch first the same time the ball is caught?

You are out: MLB official rules state that the runner must touch the base before the ball is caught.


Can you hit the ball on the full in table tennis?

Generally, no. If you "volley" the ball (as they do in tennis), you would lose the point. The technical term is "obstruction" but what it refers to is hitting the ball before it bounces. If there's a chance that the ball might hit the table because it's still travelling towards it, your opponent would lose the point if he prevented it from doing so by hitting/volleying it on the full. But ... If the ball has already passed over the table and/or is travelling away from the table, your opponent wins the point whether he hits/volleys it or not. And also ... as well as hitting the ball with your racket, if you touch the ball with any part of your body or with anything you carry, the same rule applies.


Can the cue ball be moved off the rail to make a shot?

No, you are not allowed to move the cue ball anywhere on the pool table. According to the rules of the game, the cue ball must be played from a specific spot on the table. Generally, the cue ball will start from the "head string" (near the head of the table) and must be shot from a "frozen" position. It is also not allowed to touch or move the cue ball with any object other than the cue stick. If the cue ball is accidentally moved off the head string, it must be placed back on the head string before the next shot.


What does a kick mean?

Striking the ball with the foot.


Is striking a ball a closed skill?

Yes


What is the purpose of striking the ball in a game of volleyball?

the purpose is to change the ball's speed