Best Answer

Reaching on an error does not count as a hit. However, it does count as an at bat and therefore is recorded as a statistic.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-06-18 21:37:36
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does reaching on an error count towards your total bases stat?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Does reaching base on an error count as a hit?

NO.. its not a hit ... its a ERROR ...

What is ops on baseball stat sheet?

On-Base plus Slugging percentage. On-Base percentage is the hits+walks/plate appearances (note that reaching on an error does not count towards OBP) Slugging percentage is total bases on hits / at-bats (which means walks and sacrifices don't count towards slugging) OPS is simply adding those two numbers together.

Does reaching base on an error count towards your batting average?

Yes, reaching base on an error counts as an at-bat so the batting average would go down. However, if you reach base due to a base hit and the fielder makes an error which allows you to advance an extra base, you are still credited with a hit which would make your batting average go up.

Does reaching 1st base on an error count as a hit?

NO... the answer is in your question... if its an ERROR how can it be a hit ... If the batter hits into a fielder choice then there to its not a hit ...

Does reaching base on an error count toward a player's on base percentage?

No, because if the error hadn't occurred, the batter would have been out.

Does reaching base on an error count toward a player's on-base percentage?

The official formula for on-base percentage is (Hits + Walks + Hit by pitch) / (At-bats + Walks + Hit by pitch + sacrifice flies). Reaching base on an error goes against your BA and OBP, as it doesn't count as a hit but counts as an at bat.

Does reaching base on a dropped third strike count toward a player's on-base percentage?

No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.

Do walks count as earned runs?

Generally yes...if a pitcher walks a batter and he comes around to score, that is an earned run against the pitcher, unless he scores on an error Bases loaded walks that score a run also count as an earned run against the pitcher that allowed the man on third to reach base, unless he reached base on an error

Would the run count because of the error or not count if Two outs bases loaded Grounder to first First baseman commits error but rightfielder throws batter out at first Meantime runner on third scores?

The run would not count since there are 2 outs and the fielder got the out at 1st base which is the only thing that matters in that situation with 2 outs regardless of the runners and regardless of any of the other circumstances of who is on base.

Does an error count as an at bat?

Yes an error counts as an at bat, but not a hit. You would be 0 for 1 on the play, but your on base percentage goes up because you have reached base safely. Errors can be committed on sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. If the official scorer rules a play a sacrifice bunt/fly and an error, the batter is not charged with a time at bat. On base percentage goes down when reaching base on an straight error.

Does getting an RBI count as an at-bat?

yes if you drove in a run with a hit, or fielders choice and no if you walked with bases loaded or sacrificed yourself with a fly ball or suicide squeeze you get credit for the rbi but no official at bat RBI's are earned by: * A successful HIT batting in a base runner. * Getting walked with bases loaded (this is not an at-bat) * Getting hit by pitch with bases loaded (this also is not an at-bat) * Reaching on an error with a man on 3rd and less than 2 outs. The runner at 3rd would have scored anyway if an out was recorded. A good example is a hard hit ball to the 2nd baseman while the runner at 3rd was going on the pitch. It would have been a 4-3 putout with an RBI therefore reaching base via an E4 error does create an RBI and counts as an at-bat.

How many no-hitters have been ended by an error?

None. If it is an error then it doesn't count as a hit

Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.

What is error code P0128 in Buick LaSabre?

Engine not reaching operating temperature.

Who is the alltime mlb leader for reaching base by error in history?

derek jeter

What is a miscue by a baseball player?

An error. On a score sheet an error that accounts for a runner advancing any number of bases is marked as E_ where _ is the number of bases advanced.

Does a fielder's choice count toward on base percentage?

No. On-base percentage is calculated by adding hits, walks and hit-by-pitches and dividing that number by the sum of all at-bats, walks, hit-by-pitches and sacrifice flies. (Source: fielder's choice does not improve a player's batting average, and neither does an error.djagameking:Actually an error counts towards your on base percentage, just not your average. Does a fielder's choice count towards your obp.

Do you get an rbi on an error?

No. An RBI is not awarded on an error. A fielder's choice, a sacrifice, a walk with the bases loaded or a hit. That's about it. A fielding error does not warrant an RBI.

What are the sources of error when performing a viable plate count?

Sampling error can a rise where as, the uneven distribution of the sample on the agar surface.

Does an error count as a plate appearance?

Yes. It will be scored as an out. It will count as being on base though so it will not negatively effect an on base percentage.

How many errors do you count if the word has three incorrect letters?

you count one error for each word. even if it contains many errors.

Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error first base?


Is it considered an error if a third baseman drops a line drive but gets a runner out who decides to try for home from third - unforced - and gets thrown out?

No error, batter is credited with reaching first on a fielder's choice.

Does a dropped Ball by the Outfielder with the Bases Loaded count as an RBI?

No, because a dropped ball would constitute an error, and the batter is not credited with an RBI on an error. However, the official scorer has the option of ruling that the runner on third WOULD have scored on a sacrifice fly, even if the error had not occurred. In that case, an RBI would be awarded. Note, however, that this would require fewer than two outs. If there are two outs and an outfielder commits an error, then the batter is not given an RBI -- the runs are not due to the skill of the batter but due to the mistake of the fielder.

Possible errors in lab design human error does not count?

There's temperature and elevation