answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. If the runner reaches first base, it is usually due to an error on the catcher's part, so the scoring is 'K' for strikeout but 'E2' for the catcher dropping the ball. If the catcher recovers in time, then again the 'K' for strikeout is accompanied by '2-3' for the actual putout at first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-03-22 04:00:38
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a pitcher get credit for a strikeout if a runner gets to first base via the third strike drop rule?
Write your answer...
Submit
Sign up for more answers

Registered users can ask questions, leave comments, and earn points for submitting new answers.

Already have an account? Log in

Related questions

Is a pitcher credited for a strike out if the runner reaches first base on a past ball?

Yes, the pitcher is given a strikeout for the at bat


Who gets credit for an out when a bunted ball hits the batter?

If the runner is in foul territory when the ball hits him, it is a foul ball. If it is a 2 strike bunt attempt, then the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. If the runner is in fair territory the credit would then go to the pitcher, who was the last fielder to touch the ball. My question, then, would be is it an assist or a putout? That answer I do not know.


Does a pitcher get credited for a strike out if a runner reaches first base on a past ball?

Yes it will be a strikeout Every few years a pitcher is credited with FOUR strikeouts in an inning.


Is the pitcher awarded a strikeout with catcher interference on strike three?

no


Does a dropped third strike count as an at bat?

yes, it counts as a strikeout for both pitcher and batter


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."


How do you display strikeout in HTML?

To display strikeout text use the <strike> tags. Example: <strike>Text</strike> Should Display: Text


What is another word for strike?

A "K" is a strikeout on the stat sheet and is widely regarded as either a strike or a strikeout informally as well.


What does the K stand for in softball?

A 'K' is a strikeout where the batter swung at strike three. A 'k' is a strikeout where the batter did not swing at strike three.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


What is a K in baseball?

A 'K' is a strikeout where the batter swung and missed at the third strike. A 'k' is a strikeout where the batter took a called third strike.


What is strike out?

A strikeout is an out when a batter accumulates three strikes.


Why is a strike called a K in baseball?

It is a reference to how it is kept in the scorebook. A K is a strikeout. A backwards K is a strikeout looking.


If a batter bunts and runs into the ball how is it scored?

It would be scored as an out and the credit would go to the catcher, since he is the closest player to play. ANSWER: It depends upon whether the ball was contacted in fair or foul territory when contacted by the runner. In fair territory the runner is out, play is dead (runners can't advance), and the catcher is credited with the putout. In foul territory, it depends on the count. With two strikes the batter is out, and the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. With less than two strikes, it is treated as a strike.


When will a runner get a strike in softball?

A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.


How many 'strikeouts' can 1 pitcher get credit for in a regulation game?

Unlimited. For example, if it is only a 9 inning game, the maximum a pitcher may get is 27 strike-out outs, however there could be an unlimited number of strikeouts with a missed 3rd strike and first base open with the runner reaching base safely.


How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikouts in one inning?

A pitcher can get credited with 4 strike outs in one inning by the drop 3rd strike rule as long as the runner makes it to 1st base


Does a strikeout pass ball count as at bat?

Yes. The batter is charged with an at bat and a strikeout, even if he reaches base on a missed third strike.


Can you steal on a strike in softball?

You certainly may. A base-runner may leave the bag as soon as the pitcher releases the ball.


If a batter reaches first base on a dropped third strike would you give the batter a strike out How would that affect his on-base percentage?

The batter would be charged with a strikeout and an at-bat, the pitcher would be credited with a strikeout, and a wild pitch or passed ball would also be credited. The batter's OBP would go down as the formula for determining OBP is (Hits plus Walks plus Hit by Pitcher) divided by (At Bats plus Walks plus Hit by Pitcher plus Sacrifice Flies)


What does strikeout mean in baseball?

It means when the pitcher gets the batter out himself by throwing 3 strikes, either by the batter swinging and missing, or by the ball being in the strike zone and the batter not swigning


How can you have more than three strikeouts in an inning?

In baseball, in order for a batter to be called out after the third strike, the catcher must catch the ball without it hitting the ground. If he does not, and there is no runner on first base, or there are two outs, the batter becomes a batter-runner. At this point, in order to make the out, the catcher must either tag the runner, or throw the ball to first for a force-out. Regardless of the outcome of the play, the pitcher is still awarded a strike-out. As an illustration, a pitcher can face two batters, and strike them both out. A third batter comes to the plate, receives three strikes against him, but due to an uncaught third strike, reach first. A fourth batter can then come to the plate, strike-out, and thus award the pitcher with his fourth strike-out in the inning.


Why backwards k for strike out?

Backwards K's are for a strikeout looking (not swinging the bat).


How can you change your Bebo text?

put your writing were it says bold, italic, underlin and strikeout < b > Bold < /b >< i > italic < /i >< u > underlined < /u >< strike > strikeout < /strike >dont forget to remove spaces x