Best Answer

Unless you are talking about professional Baseball, yes the batter can decline to take the issued walk. Only in minor leagues such as competitive fastpitch softball can you reject this. However, it rarely happens because the batter sometimes would rather get the free base than ground out, pop out, or strike out!

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

No he or she can not continue batting. Once a player is hit by a pitch, they are automatically given first base and that ends their at bat.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

A batter must release the bat "as soon as safe and practical" while running to first base. He cannot carry it with him or he will be ruled "out."

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Automatically goes to first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a batter have to drop his bat at first base after hitting a home run?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What does the batter do if he or she hits the ball fair?

Drop the bat, and start running to first base.

Can a catcher get an assist on a drop third strike?

yes...if he cannot place a tag on the batter, he can then make the throw to first base, thus the putout is 2-3.

If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.

How many ways can a batter be credited with an RBI?

A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.

What is the drop third strike rule with less than two outs?

With less than two outs, if first base is unoccupied on a swinging dropped third strike, the batter must be tagged out or forced out at first base. The putout goes either to the player applying the tag (usually the catcher) or the player covering first base in the case of a force out.

What is an example of a drop batter?

Drop batter is batter of such consistency as to drop from a bowl or spoon without running usu. made in a proportion of two parts flour to one part liquid.

Ways a batter can get on base?

get walked, get hit, hit the ball, catcher drop third stirke, catcher interferes with swing, and fieldrs choice

Is there a rule in the Major League Baseball rule book stating when a batter must drop the bat?

Section 6 of the MLB rulebook concerns the batter. There is no clause in Section 6 stating when a batter must drop the bat, nor is there a clause in Section 6 stating that the batter must drop the bat after hitting a fair ball. There might be some obscure clause somewhere else in the MLB rule book that covers this but nothing is found in Section 6. Click on the "MLB Rule Book - Section 6' link below to read MLB written rules concerning the batter.

What is the best way to drop a base?

Get the fish base then drop it

Is a batter out or safe if the fielder fields a fair ball but their momentum carries them into foul territory and then touches the orange base before the runner?

The batter would be out. The same rule applies as if it is a drop 3rd strike. The first baseman can claim the orange bag to give the catcher a clear throwing lane to the bag. The first baseman is claiming the orange bag as the safest bag to make the play on.

How do you be a good base fielding in rounders?

Being able to catch the ball with ease is important so you can easily run the batter out. Also, you can cover 2 positions such as the bowler can drop back to 2nd base after they've bowled or the backstop can cover 4th base

Can a batter run to first on a passed ball?

If the passed ball was a result of strike three (with fewer than 2 outs), and first base is unoccupied, the batter can ATTEMPT to run to first base before being thrown out by the catcher. (He is not ENTITLED to first base). He is entitled to first base if the pitch was ball four, whether the ball is a passed ball or not.