answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, it is optionalaction. The base runner can tag up anytime a fly ball is hit out of the infield. They can't tag up on a fly ball hit in the infield. They also can tag up on a foul ball hit anywhere on the field but they don't have to.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-14 22:25:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a baserunner have to tag up after a foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you tag up and run on a foul ball?

yes u can tag on a foul ball if it is caught in foul territory


Do you need to tag up for a foul ball?

Yes.


Do you have to tag up after a foul ball even if it not caught?

If a foul ball is not caught in the air, the ball is dead, so there would be no tag up opportunity. If it is caught in the air, the runners can tag up and advance at their own risk.


If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


In softball can you run on a foul?

Yes you can tag up and advance on a caught foul ball.


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.


In baseball and you're on base and a foul ball is caught can you tag up?

Yes, you may tag up and advance at your own risk.


Is it a sacrifice fly if it is a foul ball and the foul ball is caught?

No. But it is an RBI if a runner scores on the play.But if he doesn't tag up he's out if they throw it to the base he was at.


Do you have to tag up on a foul tip?

No.


Can you tag up if the ball is caught at the pitchers mound on a pop up?

You can tag up on any popup or flyball no matter where it is caught, even if it is caught in foul territory. Now it might not be the smartest thing to tag up on a ball popped up to the pitcher though, but you can do it if you want


Runner on 3rd. Batter hits fly ball foul and it is caught.Can they tag the player on 3rd if she is off the base?

Yes. A foul fly ball is no different than a fair fly ball. The runner at third can tag up and try for home after the catch and the defense can try to throw the runner out at third if she is not paying attention.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


What is a foul tip in basball?

A foul tip is when the batter hits the ball with a small piece of the bat and the ball lands foul. A pop up to the catcher is not a foul tip.


Why do sportscasters distinguish between a fly ball caught in foul and fair territory. Don't the same tag-up rules apply and if not whats the difference?

The same tag up rules apply. My guess is that the announcer is simply giving as much detail as possible about the fly ball.


Can you advance on a caught foul ball?

Yes, once the foul ball is caught the runners can advance by tagging up


How can a base runner advance on a caught fly ball?

If a baserunner goes back and touches/or stands (this is called 'tagging up') on the base the they started on after the ball is caught he can then advance to the next base(s). If you do not go back and 'tag' the base after the ball is caught, the defensive team can throw the ball to the base you started on and you will be out


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


Can a catcher use his mask to pick up a foul ball?

No, the catcher can not pick up the foul ball with his mask. If so, a base is rewarded to the batter.


Can someone tag up on a ball caught in fowl territory?

yes he can tag up


Can a runner advance on a dropped pop up in foul territory?

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.


When does a run not count on a fly ball?

When the runner doesn't properly 'tag-up' after the fly ball is caught. In baseball, to tag up is for a baserunner to retouch or remain on their starting base (the time-of-pitch base) until (after) the ball either lands in fair territory or is first touched by a fielder. By rule, baserunners must tag up when a fly ball is caught in flight by a fielder. After a legal tag up, runners are free to attempt to advance, even if the ball was caught in foul territory. On long fly ball outs, runners can often gain a base; when a runner scores by these means, this is called a sacrifice fly. On short fly balls, runners seldom attempt to advance after tagging up, due to the high risk of being thrown out. When a base runner fails to tag up on a caught fly ball (for instance, if they started running too early, thinking the ball wouldn't be caught), they may be "doubled off", which results in them being called out. To double a runner off, a fielder must touch the runner's starting base while in possession of the ball before the runner returns to the base. If the baserunner appeared to tag up, but a fielder suspects the baserunner may have left the base too early (thus failing to legally tag up), the fielder may attempt to double the runner off by touching the runner's starting base while controlling the ball, before the next pitch is thrown. This is considered a type of appeal play. If the umpire agrees that the runner did not retouch after the ball was touched by a fielder, the umpire will call the runner out, and anything else the runner did during the play (such as score a run) is negated. Doubling a runner off is considered a "time play" (as opposed to a force play), which means that even if the doubling-off is the third out of an inning, any runs which score before the double-off will count (unless the run was scored by the same runner that was doubled off, in which case the run will not count in any situation).


Is a ball considered fair or foul if it pops up lands foul and then rolls into fair territory?

If the ball lands foul past first or third base the ball is foul regardless of where it rolls. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls fair before first/third base, the ball is fair. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls foul past first/third base, the ball is foul. If the ball is touched while it is in foul territory before reaching first or third base it is considered foul and vise versa if it is touched in fair territory. Otherwise whether it is fair or foul is determined by where the ball stops. ** if the ball hits any part of 1st or 3rd base it is a fair ball


What does sf mean in baseball?

Probably Sacrifice Fly. This is where there is a baserunner who advances by tagging up on a fly ball hit by the batter.