Does a HBP count as a strike or ball?

Updated: 12/17/2022
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Best Answer

a ball because it must be a ball to hit the batter because if it weren't then it must be ruled that the batter leaned in on the pitch.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a HBP count as a strike or ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

A foul ball is considered a?

A foul ball in a two strike count is nothing it count as a strike for the pitcher count but the count will stay the same and no out. In the case of a one strike count or a zero strike count, the fould ball is counted as a strike and the count will be a 1 strike difference. EX: 0 strikes turn into 1 strike 1 strike turn into 2 strikes 2 strikes stay at 2 strikes

If a pitch is hit does it count as a strike or a ball against a pitcher's pitch count?

The pitch goes towards the pitcher's strike count.

Does a sacrifice ground ball count as an at bat?

The answer is no, BB, HBP, SH and SF does not count as an official AB yes new answer: There is no such thing as a sacrifice ground ball and this would be an at-bat. The only exception is a bunt.

If a batter makes contact with a pitch but makes an out is the pitch considered a ball or strike as far as the pitch count is considered?

I think you're asking, "if the pitcher throws a ball that is waaaay out of the strike zone, but the batter swings at it anyway, does it count as a strike?" The answer is YES - if it were a foul ball it would count as a strike, so why should it be any different if it is put into play?

Does it count in baseball if the ball bounces and lands in the strike zone it still counts?

It would be a ball

Is a foul ball is counted as a strike?

The first two foul balls count as strikes 1 and 2. After that, it is not a strike.

Is a foul ball counted as a strike in softball?

The first two foul balls count as strikes 1 and 2. After that, it is not a strike.

How does the scoring system for bowling work?

all pins count as one if they are not all knocked down. a spare: 10+the next ball thrown. Ex: spare 5=15 strike: 10+next 2 balls Ex: strike 7(first ball) 2(second ball)19 max count for a spare: 20 pins Max count for a strike: 30 pins

What is a full count?

In baseball, this is when the batter has a 'count' of three balls and two strikes. It is called a full count because the batter cannot get another ball or strike without the at bat ending ... one more ball will cause a base on balls (walk) and one more strike will be a strikeout.

What happens when you foul tip the ball on the third strike and it hits the batter?

Well a foul tip is when on the third strike, the catcher catches the ball resulting in the batter being out. But if you are suggesting that on the third strike the batter fouls the ball off but it ends up hitting him it is a strike but the ball is dead, so the count stays the same.

A batter who has 2 strikes and 3 balls is said to have full count?

Yes, 3 Balls and 2 strikes is considered a "full count" meaning that the next strike you receive you are out (strike out) or the next ball you get you receive a walk (or 'bases on balls').Foul balls don't count towards your strike total when you have 2 strikes, if you foul a ball off with 2 strikes you have to "do it again" and your count remains the same.

How do you get a batter out?

There are several ways to get a batter out. 1. They strike out swinging. 2. They strike out looking. (they don't swing, but the ball is in the strike zone) 3. They bunt a foul ball while they already have a 2 strike count. 4. They hit a fly ball that is caught by a fielder. 5. They hit a ground ball and the ball is thrown to first base before they step on it. 6. They hit a ball close to where they are running and they get tagged out.