If by "standard 8 ball" you mean "world standardize 8-ball" rules by the BCA, then the following rules apply.
Under the "World standardized" 8-ball Rules published (Version 21/12/2007) by the BCA, it states the following:
Rule 3-3 Break Shot
(e) Pocketing the eight ball on a legal break shot is not a foul. If the eight ball is pocketed, the breaker has the option of
# re-spotting the eight ball and accepting the balls in position, or # re-breaking.
(f) If the breaker pockets the eight ball and scratches (see definition 8.6 Scratch), the opponent has the option of
# re-spotting the eight ball and shooting with cue ball in hand behind the head string; or # re-breaking.
So under the BCA rules, its neither a win nor a loss.
Yes. If you scratch on the 8 you lose.
ADD: Absolutely incorrect. If you scratch on the 8 ball, it is simply a foul. unless of course you ALSO make the 8, in which case it is a loss of game.
Many self proclaimed "knowlegeable" people in the sport of pool are actually just somewhat ignorant. I suspect the first answer was well intentioned, but this player probably plays in some league where they have incorporated this rule as an exception, or a concession, reflecting the lower standard of players and their knowledge.
It is a rampant problem within the pool community, because so many people are involved with leagues. However, I do feel that the benefits of the huge new base of players generated from leagues does outweigh the prevalence of poor information available regarding the rules.
Yes, the cue ball must always remain on the table.
If you intentionally pocket the eight ball and it is your last object ball it is a win. If you hit the eight ball into a hole while you still have other balls to pocket, then you auto lose.
If the cue ball goes in off the yellow, green or brown there are 4 penalty points. If the cue ball goes in off the blue there are 5 penalty points. If the cue ball goes in off the pink there are 6 penalty points. If the cue ball goes in off the black there are 7 penalty points.
Any foul when shooting on the black is an automatic loss for the player who fouled.If the white follows the black in, then you lose in any case.the person who pots the white and black ball at the same time loses.
'Hit' just describes the contact between the cue tip and the cue ball. 'Stroke' is used to describe the technique used to hit the cue ball, which includes a players biomechanics. It's possible to attempt a stroke without actually hitting the cue ball.
It's the same name, whether it's pool, snooker or billiards.... The Cue-ball
There are two kinds of cue ball jumps, one immediately after the cue strikes the cue ball and one where the cue ball jumps after contact with another object. A legal stroke to jump a cue ball immediately must strike the cue ball above center - this drives the cue ball into the table surface from which it rebounds. Strking the cue ball below center to lift the ball intentionally is called a scoop shot and is a foul. A cue ball can be made to jump after hitting a rail by using extreme draw or follow.
Yes, if you hit the cue ball into the target ball and the target ball knocks the 8 ball into a pocket you lose.
If the cue ball goes in it is a foul - the pocketed ball may or may not be removed and spotted depending upon the ball and rules of play. In the game of 8 ball, if the other ball is the 8 ball it is loss of game.
You can not get breast cancer from a cue ball.
If the game is 8 ball, this is a foul that results in loss of game under most rules.
No, but many people do carry a cue ball in their cue case. There are drawstring bags that can be purchased from toy stores and craft shops that work well for protecting the cue ball.
Makes no sense grammatically. The white ball is the cue ball in snooker.