answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

never, it has to be a guy off the bench. think about it, if a pinch runner could be someone already in the game, then nobody would run the bases for Tampa but carl crawford!

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2011-09-12 15:17:11
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Could a Pinch runner be a player in the game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How many times can you use the same player as a pinch runner in girls a.s.a. softball?

Unlimited as long as the pinch runner is designated the pinch runner for the pitching position only and is a sub that does not enter the game.


If a pinch runner comes into a game and ends up coming around to score who gets credit for the total bases and run scored - the pinch runner or the player who reached base in the first place?

Total bases is not relevant with pinch runners. Total bases is only relevant with batters and is a statistical category used to measure a baseball player's effectiveness at the plate. So the pinch runner would be credited with 0 total bases. However, the run scored would be credited to the pinch runner.


Who gets the win when a fielder is assinged to pitch Like in a situation when someone pinch hits for a pitcher and the winning run is scored while that pinch runner is assingned to pitch?

The pitcher of record, i. e., the pitcher who was the player who last pitched, would get credit for the win. The pinch hitter or pinch runner is not considered the pitcher until he takes the mound, not when he replaces the pitcher as a pinch hitter or pinch runner. To further explain, even if the pinch hitter or pinch runner, or another pitcher enters the game to pitch after the end of the inning in which they pinch hit and/or pinch ran, and the losing team does not tie the game, or go ahead, that previous pitcher (the one that was pinch hit for, or pinch ran for) gets credit for the win.


Can a pinch hitter or runner be someone already in the game's line-up?

No


If a pinch runner comes into a game and steals a base Who gets the credit for the steal?

The pinch runner gets credit for the stolen base, and for any run he might score.


What happens when a batter is hit by a pitch and cannot return to a game is he out?

No they get a pinch runner.


How many times can you use a pinch runner in a game?

You can have as many pinch runners as necessary. Of course, there are only 25 active players in the roster. In the American League, 10 of those players are already started in the game, leaving 15 players. Technically you could use 15 pinch runners if you really wanted to. Once a player is removed from the game, he cannot come back.


Can a player who has entered the game as a courtesy runner only later sub in for another player?

On defense, a courtesy runner can sub for any position they want the next half inning thy play (if the coach wants) or just come out of the game. They can't, however, sub in again as a courtesy runner, and if taken out of the game from pinch running (not DH or playing a defensive position) they can't come back into the game.


If a batter gets hit and can not continue what happens then?

A pinch runner must be inserted for him at first base. Then, the batter that was hit cannot return, and the pinch runner must stay in the game (unless he's replaced by someone else, in which case the runner can't return).


How many times can a pinch runner run for the same person in one game?

In MLB, only once. Once a player is taken out of the game they may not return. This rule may be different for Little League.


Can you come off the bench in baseball to play?

It's perfectly permissible to play in a game even if you are not on starting lineup card presented to the opposing manager before the game. However, if a player does so, at least one other player must be permanently removed from the lineup, and that latter player may never play any part of the game. A player can come off the bench as a relief pitcher, pinch-hitter, defensive replacement, injury replacement, or a pinch-runner (the latter is fairly rare).


In the softball fast pitch line up when can put a designator runner?

A designated runner can run for pitchers and catchers. It needs to be the same runner every time you put them into the game. You can also use a pinch runner, but this counts as a substitution so be careful when you do this that you are not going over the substitution limit.

People also asked