answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-23 20:25:51
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you run on a dropped third strike with the base occupied and two outs?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


Can a runner go to 1st on a dropped third strike by the catcher if 1st base is occupied?

No, If first base is open you are allowed to try to run to first on a missed 3rd strike but if it is occupied then you will immediately be called out unless there are two outs. If there are two outs the uncaught third strike rule does not apply.


If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.


Why do you get to run to first base after a dropped third strike?

The ball is still on play on a dropped-third strike and a runner can attempt to reach first base as long as a runner doesn't occupy first base prior to the dropped pitch.


On a third strike in baseball and the hitter can run to first base what is it called?

Dropped Thrid Strike


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike?

Absolutely but only if the batter safely reaches first base. A dropped (actually uncaught) third strike is a live ball.


What is the rule on a dropped third strike with first base occupied?

With 0 or 1 outs, the batter is automatically out. With 2 outs, the batter may attempt to reach first base safely. In order to be called out automatically, first base must be occupied by a baserunner.


Does reaching base on a dropped third strike count toward a player's on-base percentage?

No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.


If a catcher misses a third strike can a batter run to first?

yes, unless first base is occupied.


What is a four strike out half inning?

If a guy gets on base after a dropped third strike, a pitcher can get more than 3 strike outs in an inning.


On a dropped third strike can runners advance?

Yes, a dropped 3rd strike acts the same as a passed ball or a wild pitch so runners can advance to the next base.


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


Do you run on the third strike if first base is not occupied?

If the catcher doesnt cleaning catch the 3rd strike (it hits the dirt), then you can run to 1st, the catcher will have to tag or throw to 1st to get you out. This rule applies if there are less then 2 outs and 1st base is not occupied, if there are 2 outs, then you can run even if 1st base is occupied


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


What happens on a Dropped third strike with 2 outs?

When there are two outs, the batter may attempt to take first base, even if it was occupied on the pitch. The runner previously on first base would, of course, have to advance to second to allow the batter to reach.


When can you run on a dropped third strike?

In MLB, you can run on an uncaught third strike in two situations: 1) There are two outs. 2) There are less than two outs and there is not a runner on first base.


What is a batter credited with when the batter reaches 1st base on a dropped third strike?

The batter would be charged with a strikeout and an at-bat.


If a batter swings at a pitch in the dirt and it is the third strike and also the third out can the batter run to first base?

In softball yes.. if first base is not occupied.... but it depends on baseball and softball and what leval you play at


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.


Can a runner on third base steal home on a dropped third strike?

Yes, if it just merely a dropped 3rd strike and he is safe, then he will be credited with a steal, however, if the pitch is ruled a passed ball or wild pitch, then the runner will not be credited with a stolen base, but rather just advancing on a passed ball/wild pitch


On dropped third strike if you tag the bat is the batter out?

No. You must tag the player or throw him out at first base - or get another runner out by force!!


In softball Canadian rules in order for the third strike rule to apply first base must be unoccupied Does that mean unoccupied when the third strike occured or when the batter got to the plate?

First base must be unoccupied when the third strike occurs. If there are 2 outs then first can be occupied and the batter/runner must be put out by tag or force at 1st.


Dropped third strike?

Anytime the ball hits the dirt on a 3rd strike it is considered a "dropped 3rd strike", even if it is executed as the pitcher and catcher wanted (ie. curveball in the dirt). On a dropped 3rd strike, the batter can try and advance by running to 1st base, as with any runner, the defensive team will need to tag the batter out or throw to 1st base. If the runner walks to the dugout, the umpire can call him outon his disgression. The dropped 3rd strike rule does not apply if there is a runner on 1st base with less then 2 outs. If there are 2 outs, all runners required to run would be forced to advance and be safe for this rule to apply


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


How many ways can you reach 1st base in a baseball game?

Hit, error, fielders choice, hit by pitch, catchers interference, walk, dropped third strike