answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

In MLB, you can run on an uncaught third strike in two situations: 1) There are two outs. 2) There are less than two outs and there is not a runner on first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you run on a dropped third strike with the base occupied and two outs?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.


In softball Canadian rules in order for the third strike rule to apply first base must be unoccupied Does that mean unoccupied when the third strike occured or when the batter got to the plate?

First base must be unoccupied when the third strike occurs. If there are 2 outs then first can be occupied and the batter/runner must be put out by tag or force at 1st.


Do you run on the third strike if first base is not occupied?

With 0 or 1 outs, the batter is automatically out. With 2 outs, the batter may attempt to reach first base safely. In order to be called out automatically, first base must be occupied by a baserunner.


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


What is the drop third strike rule with less than two outs?

With less than two outs, if first base is unoccupied on a swinging dropped third strike, the batter must be tagged out or forced out at first base. The putout goes either to the player applying the tag (usually the catcher) or the player covering first base in the case of a force out.


Does a Batter have to run to first base in foul territory after bunting or dropped third strike?

No, but he must run in the "runners box" when he reaches that spot down the first base line, or he may be called out for interference.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

All that the rules say is the base must be unoccupied for the runner to advance with a dropped third strike. Now, in your situation there are two outs which changes things a little. It allows the runner on first to vacate the base by attempting to advance to second. If there is a runner on first with less than two outs the batter cannot attempt to take first on a dropped third strike no matter what the runner on first does. In your scenario as well, the bases are loaded so all runners must leave their base in order for the batter to advance to first making it a force play at home plate. All that the defense needs to do is step on home plate with the ball before the runner from third can successfully cross home plate in order to record the strike out.


What are the ways that you can get to first base in regulation baseball?

1. A Base Hit 2. An Error 3. A Walk (Intentional or not) 4. A HBP 5. Catchers Interference 6. Fielders Choice 7. Dropped Third Strike


What are six ways to reach first base without getting a hit or walking?

Error Catchers Interference Fielders Choice Intentional Walk Hit by Pitch Dropped Third Strike


Can runners advance on a strike three that hits the batter on a swing?

Yes. Unless first base is occupied


How do you score a swinging third strike and passed ball when runner reaches safely?

It is scored as a strike out for the pitcher (as far as the pitcher's stats) but not an out against the team at bat. The base runner's advance to 1st is scored as a passed ball (error) on the cather.


What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes out on hand?

The drop third strike rule is in effect. Whenever there is a strikeout and the ball is not caught cleanly or bounces in, this rule is in effect EXCEPT when 1st base is occupied. With 2 out, the rule is always in effect.