Best Answer

Yes, there is nothing in the rules that says you can't do that. But you would only do that on a foul fly ball.

If the ball was in fair territory and you let the ball drop, the player would have enough time to score from third base without problem. But if the ball was in foul territory, allowing the ball to drop might possibly keep the runner on third from tagging up and scoring since the runner cannot advance on an uncaught foul fly ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you miss the ball on purpose so the runner cant score on sac fly when its bottom of 9th and 1 out and runner on the 3rd base amd score is tied and a fly ball to outfield?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How do you indicate a runner hit by a batted ball in the score book?

With a note at the bottom.

How do you score a runner missing first base?

When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.

Is second base considered scoring position?

Yes. Second and third base are considered scoring position because a runner should be able to score on a single to the outfield.

When a batter hits a grand slam how many runs score?

4 Runs score. The Batter, The runner on 1st, The Runner on 2nd and the runner on 3rd.

If the bases are loaded with one out and the batter hits a ground ball - which hits his runner who is going from 1st to 2nd - does the runner on third advance to score?

I would say the runner is called out (would be Out #2) and the runner on third could advance to score. However, if there were two outs, the runner would be called out (Out #3) and therefore, the runner on 3rd would not be able to score (unless of course he crossed home plate before the runner got hit by the ground ball, then it would count)

Runner on third tag runner second run score?

Please restate your question. Use sentences.

What percent of the time does a leadoff runner on 1st score?


Can a runner slide for the first score of the game?

Yes, a runner may slide into any base at any time.

Why do they always force out at first and let the runner score from third?

The score won't count if there is 2 outs.

Can a runner score on a fly ball if the other runner doesn't?

Sure. The runner on 3rd base can tag up and score. The runner on 2nd may not even be able to advance to 3rd base, especially if the fly ball is to left field. To further clarify..a base runner may not pass another base runner who is ahead of, if your question means can a runner on 2nd or 1st, tag up and score if the runner on third doesn't, the simple answer is no...however, in a rare case they could. Let's assume that the runner on third tags up, but is thrown out at home and it is not the 3rd out of the inning, then the catcher either throws the ball away, or otherwise loses the ball, the other runner or runners may then advance and score. The batter, though, is not credited with a Sacrifice Fly, nor an RBI.

Is it possible to hit a sac fly when there is only one runner on first base?

No. For it to be a sacrifice fly, a runner must score.

What is the highest score ever on line runner fpr the iPod?