The answer is simply yes, you can make a field goal after a fair catch.
No ... the free kick following a fair catch is used to score a field goal, therefore, it must be a place kick or a drop kick.
nothing, a player will normally be there to catch it and play on. It's not a score because field goals must be attempted on a scrimmage down, not on a free kick like a kickoff. The only exception is the fair-catch kick, which allows you to attempt a field goal immediately after a fair catch. Therefore, if a kickoff goes through the uprights (and subsequently lands out of play), it is simply a touchback for the receiving team.
In the NFL, the team receiving a punt has the opportunity to kick a field goal on the play immediately after a fair catch, even if there is no time remaining on the clock. The team attempting the free kick must either drop kick the ball or have a player holding the ball like on a 'regular' field goal attempt. A kicking tee is not allowed. The defensive team must be positioned a minimum of 10 yards from the line of scrimmage at the time of the kick. If the kicked ball goes through the uprights, it is considered a field goal and three points are awarded to the kicking team. If the attempt is no good, the defensive team is awarded the ball at the spot of the kick unless the defensive team attempts to return the kick. The free kick after fair catch play is rarely seen and is always done at the end of a half. There is no free kick after fair catch rule in college ball.
If a team punts the ball and the receiving team executes a successful fair catch, the receiving team may attempt a field goal from the site of the fair catch. This kick kinda looks like a 'regular' kick off. The teams do not line up at the line of scrimmage and there is no snap of the ball from the center to the holder. The ball is held at the site of the fair catch and the kicker may take as many run up steps as desired prior to kicking the ball. If the kick is successful, the kicking team gets three points. If the kick is unsuccessful, the other team takes possession at the spot of the kick.
As far as rules are concerned, punting and field goals have the same rules (except punting cannot score points like field goals can). They are referred to as 'scrimmage kicks'. So a FG that will land in the field of play is identical to a punt that will land in the field of play. The kick returner can even call a fair catch!
Following possession of a kickoffWhen a team has forced the other team to punt away, and calls a fair catch, they are entitled to take a free kick (fair catch kick in the NFL). This is basically a kick off the ground from where you caught the fair catch. This is different from any other kick because there is no snap and the defense does not rush the kicker.This is only of use if there is little or no time remaining and the ball is caught within field goal distance, which would be the intent of the kick. The kick is taken from the yard line of the catch, not from behind a line of scrimmage.Following a safetyA team that gives up a safety delivers a free kick from its own 20-yard line, either from a punt, a placekick without a tee, or a dropkick. A safety scores 2 points and possession from the free kick.
Field goal, bucket, or free throw.
No. In NFL football, once a ball hits the uprights (goal post), whether from a pass or a missed field goal or a punt, it is out of play.
A field goal in basketball is worth three points while a free throw is worth 1 point
No, a fair catch is for the receiving team only. However, the kicking team can catch a punt as long as they do not interfere with the receiver. You might see this when the punting team is just out of field goal range and the punter kicks a very high ball that is going to land near the goal line. In this instance, the receiver will usually get out of the way and let the ball hit the ground in hopes that it will bound into the end zone for a touchback. On the rare occasion you will see a member of the kicking team catch the ball at the one or two yard line.
According to documented sources, the longest high school football field goal was 68 yards by Dirk Borgognone of Reno, NV in 1985. (There is an undocumented 70-yard kick which would be the longest in any US football venue.) In 1971 John Woodward of Elk Grove H.S. in California kicked a 67 yard field goal vs. Grant H.S. in Sacramento California. In 1999, Rusty Curry of Duluth H.S. in Georgia, kicked a 67 yard field goal vs Norcross H.S. which came off a free kick after a fair catch. In 2012, Austin Rehkow of Central Valley High (Washington) also kicked a 67 yard field goal, sending their game against Sadle Park High into overtime, where Central Valley eventually won.