Can you have a 2 pitch inning?

Updated: 9/27/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

Best Answer

Hypothetically, you can have a 0 pitch inning if the first 3 batters of each team refuse to take their position in the batter's box and the umpire calls 3 strikes on each of them. My original answer, at the bottom, is based on ONE HALF OF AN INNING since a full inning is after both teams have had an at-bat. So, technically, you can have a 2 pitch FULL INNING if 2 pitches are delivered to 2 different batters and they fly or ground out, then the other 4 batters step out and refuse to step into the batter's box before the umpire calls all 3 strikes on them.

Acually you can have a 1 pitch innings. You can throw 2 balks, which puts guys on 1st and 2nd base. A balk is not a pitch. Then throw a triple play.

No this is wrong. A balk does not award a batter a base. 3 pitch minimum for an inning.

I once won a prize for this very question. You can get 3 outs on 2 pitches in MLB if: Batter 1 hits first pitch and flies out or gets thrown out at first base. Ditto batter 2. No runners on bases and 2 pitches thrown. Batter 3 steps out of batter's box after pitcher is set on mound and refuses to step back in - Rule 6.02 (c) "If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter's box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter (note: it doesn't say the pitcher has to throw the ball for the strike to be called). The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out." That's 3 outs on 2 pitches.

User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
User Avatar

Dennis Koppo

Lvl 1
3y ago
With the new extra inning rule about having a man on 2nd, you could have a 2 pitch half-inning by catching him off base and getting the other 2 batters out with 1 pitch each.
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

There are no set number of pitches in each inning.

The absolute shortest number of pitches that could be pitched in one inning is 6, with 3 outs per half-inning, assuming each batter swung at the first pitch resulting in an out.

I don't know the most pitches that have been thrown in one inning. I have watched games where a pitcher (or multiple pitchers) have thrown forty or more pitches in one half-inning alone.

Until 3 outs have been recorded, a pitcher will continue pitching to batters.

If a batter steps into the batters box with an illegal bat, he is immediately called out. If three batters on each team did this, you could have zero pitches thrown in an inning.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you have a 2 pitch inning?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many inning in a slow pitch softball game?


If you pitch a different pitcher 3 innings can you pitch the pitcher that pitched the 2nd inning in the 4th?

Yes, providing that pitcher did not leave the game, but moved to a different position on the field for the 3rd inning.

Has a pitcher ever thrown a three pitch inning?

thousands of times

Can a pitcher pitch one inning by throwing only one pitch?

Not unless the pitcher is just put onto the mound after the bases are already loaded. If he pitches, and there are 2 outs already, and someone catches the batters hit, then yes, he pitched that inning. Or if he pitched and there was a triple play, which would be hard to do unless the other fielders had excellent timing.

How many inning does a pitcher need for a complete game?

They have to pitch the complete game...

Who was the last American League pitcher to start a game and pitch past the ninth inning?

Roy Halliday of the Toronto Blue Jays pitched a 10 inning complete game against the Detroit Tigers on April 13, 2007, winning 2-1.

Was there ever a 6 pitch inning where each pitch thrown was hit and out with no extra fouls or strikes?

It would be impossible. If every pitch thrown in one inning was hit and out, there could only be 3 pitches. And yes, there have been MANY of these. Actually, I think the original contributor wanted to know if 3-pitch innings had ever been recorded by both teams in the same inning - thereby leading to a total of 6 pitches for the entire inning. As far as I can tell, there is no record of such a feat in the major leagues, although the following link does provide more information regarding recorded 3-pitch innings:

Will there be Pitch Perfect 2?

In 2015 there will be a pitch perfect 2.

Will there be a Pitch Perfect 2?

yes there will be a pitch perfect 2

How many inning can a college pitcher pitch in week?

Depends on how many pitches are thrown

Do Cal Ripken leagues use a pitch count?

Cal Ripken uses an innings count instead of pitch count. If a pitcher throws even one pitch, it counts as a whole inning.

When is a pitcher in a baseball game the pitcher of record to begin an inning Is it during his warm up tosses Or is it the first pitch to the first batter?

it is always the first pitch