yes but you can not maul over the catcher In the 1979 Little League World Series in Williamsport, PA., a player jumped over the catcher. Grosse Pointe Woods-Shores, MI was playing Campbell, CA. in a semi-final game. Grosse Pointe centerfielder Mike Walkowiak scampered home as the throw came in. The throw beat Walkowiak and the Campbell catcher crouched low to make the inevitable out. Just then, Walkowiak hurdled high over the catcher and both feet landed on home plate without even coming close to the catcher. It was the go ahead run at the time, putting Grosse Pointe up 5-4. Mike's ingenuity wasn't enough, however, as Campbell went on to win the game 8-5.
No, in general. The rules of little league vary from t-ball to a 16-18 category. They are also adaptable for local situations. You might have big kids and little kids on the same team. In that case the local rule would be no. You might be past the point where the rule would be yes.
Yes. In Rule 7.06 of the MLB Rulebook it states: " The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only when he is fielding a ball or when he already has the ball in his hand."
There are two situations. (1) If the catcher (or any defensive player) has possession of the ball the runner (Rule 7.08(a)(2) the runner is out if "the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag." In addition, if the umpire judges that the runner was malicious and trying to injure the fielder (including the catcher) the umpire may eject the player. However, if the catcher does NOT have possession of the ball and therefore is not waiting to make the tag, the catcher is guilty of obstruction (Rule 2.00, definition of obstruction). If the umpire makes this judgement, the runner would be awarded the base to the runner. This does not give the runner free license to slam into the catcher. Again, if the umpire judges the runner was malicious, the runner would be awarded the base (including scoring the run) and then the umpire may eject the player. In addition, if the umpire judges that the catcher was malicious and was malicious in their action (causing injury to the runner), the catcher may be ejected. So the bottom line is that the runner and catcher are expected to avoid malicious contact.
only in little league
The force-out rule is the same in little league as it is in the majors. If there is nowhere else for the runner to go because the runner behind him must advance, the force-out is at the base he's headed to.
the runner must avoid contact by sliding or stopping in Babe Ruth League even if he has the base path. The call will be strictly up to the umpire. If the catcher does not have the ball he could call interference, however if the catcher is making a play on the ball or has the ball the runner could be called safe or out depending on the sole discretion of the umpire determining if "contact was avoided by the base runner" --- I personally if i was the umpire would have called him out... leaping over a player is a very dangerous thing to do, when sliding is the alternative --- by jumping you take chance of the catcher getting hit in the head unprotected, or going to apply a tag and cause the base runner to go flying out of control --- RUNNER OUT!! if I was behind the plate
That rule doesn't exist in Little League International rules. Little League International allows for local rules to be established by individual leagues. That is likely a rule that a local league put into place for some reason.
I assume that you are refering to Little League Baseball. Remember, you technically have to appeal the out by having the ball and touching the base. The stats should reflect these events because the runner is not out until the appeal.
Generally the designated runner is to be used for the catcher when there are two outs, sometimes the number of outs is not important. The PURPOSE of the rule is to allow the catcher to put his equipment on sooner and speed up the game. Some leagues use the designated runner for both the pitchers and catchers. This allows the pitcher and catcher to also rest. In addition it gives a player the opportunity to participate who is not in the line-up.
No. There is no 'uncaught third strike' rule in Little League. A base runner can advance if a third strike is not caught but the batter may not reach first base due to an uncaught third strike.Majors and minors can't, but juniors and seniors can.
If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.
Catcher's "Speed up Rule": with 2 outs, or an inning about to end, if your catcher for next inning is on base, remove him for a pinch runner and get their Catcher's Gear on before your team goes out to the field defensively.