answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The correct name for a Table Tennis paddle is a table tennis racket.

Yes, it is OK for the racket to touch the table.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-01-06 11:07:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the paddle touch the court in table tennis?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can your hand touch the court in table tennis?

In my league, you can't touch the table or net with your free hand. If you do, automatic loss of point. Your paddle may touch the table with no penalty.


Can hand touch the table in table tennis?

No, if it does it is a point to the other player.


Is it against the rules to put your hand on the table when playing table tennis?

You may not touch the table with your free hand


Can you touch the ball in table tennis while playing the game?

You can touch the ball when it is not in play. When the ball is in play, you cannot touch it.


Can you hit the ball in table tennis before it touches your side of the table?

No the ball must touch your side of the table before you can hit it


What is the meaning of aces in tennis?

Aces are terms when a person serves the ball and the person who is on the other side of the court is unable to touch the tennis ball.


What happen if a tennis ball hit the lights above the court during a return at tennis?

Chair empire says "Touch" and returner losts the point


Why do the players touch the table in table tennis?

If you mean while the point is being played then they shouldn't be as that is illegal, but if you mean in between points when they touch the sides or edges of the table, that is because they are getting any sweat/moisture off their hands so they can grip the bat properly


Is it legal to touch the ping pong paddle with two hands?

Yes, you can touch the racket (also known as a paddle or bat) with both hands, but there is no advantage to doing so. In fact it is probably more of a disadvantage.


Whose point is it when a player hits the net after hitting the ball into the opponent's court?

In tennis and volley-ball you lose the point if you touch the net while the ball is in play.


In Tennis what is a legal serve which the opponent fails to touch or the point which is scored as a result?

The legal serve where the opponent fails to touch the tennis ball is called 'ACE'.


If a ping pong ball hits a player's paddle and that player is behind the end line who wins the point?

If the ball hits the player's paddle, including holding hand, before touching other objects (table, ground, etc. but the ball can touch the net), then the other player win the point. It is called 'blocking rule'. It does not matter if the hitting happened behind the end of the table or not (e.g. you still lost the point even when the ball hit your paddle or holding hand and you stood 5 feet away from the table). I guess such rule was introduced because sometimes it's very hard to call where the paddle touching was happened (player could stand very close to the table and paddle may or may not be behind the table). On the other hand, the spinning of the ball could change directions in the air before landing. To avoid dispute, such 'blocking rule' was introduced to prohibit any touching by the paddle or holding hand before touching other object except net. However, if the ball hits other parts of the player's body when the player is behind table, it does not count as blocking. In such cases, it's called 'out'.

People also asked