answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Answer

No, the baseman muist have both feet in the field of play while holding on a runner

This is NOT true.

4.03 When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory....(C) Except for the pitcher and catcher, any fielder may station himself anywhere in fair territory

The first baseman must be on fair territory when the ball is put into play. Once in play, he can setup, one foot in and one foot out, for a pick off play so long as he has one foot "in fair territory".

So this means that at least 1 foot is in fair territory, and the fair/foul line is considered as in fair territory. So if a 1st baseman is holding a runner on, then they are legally "in fair territory" if one foot is on the line and one foot is in foul territory.

Question: Are these last two statements true? Where is the "Approved Ruling?"

True, foul lines are in fair territory at all levels of play. You quoted the OBR rule. NCAA and NFHS have similar rules.

You are looking for a ruling on the first baseman playing with one foot in foul territory. Since you quoted pro rules, I'll start there.

By official interpretation, a player is in fair ground only when he has both feet in fair territory. This is in the PBUC manual and the MLB umpire manual. However, both manuals go on to say that if the first baseman positions himself with one foot in foul territory, there is no penalty but the player should be instructed to position his feet properly. The PBUC also says (MLB does not contain the following statement) not to insist on the first baseman playing with both feet in fair territory unless the offensive team protests, then enforce it strictly to the rule and be sure to enforce it on both teams.

Both NCAA and NFHS define a player being in fair territory as having at least one foot in contact with fair ground.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2013-11-27 07:04:24
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the first or third baseman have one foot in foul territory while holding on a runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Sign up for more answers

Registered users can ask questions, leave comments, and earn points for submitting new answers.

Already have an account? Log in

Related questions

Does first baseman hold runner on with runners on first and 2nd?

The first baseman will in some cases. If the runner at first is a very important potential run with less than two outs, yes they will be held. Holding the runner on decreases the lead-off the runner has, so by holding the runner, the runner has longer to go to score. If there are two outs, the fielders will normally not hold the runner because if any out is recorded, the inning is over. In this case you want the fielder in the best position to get the out. In other cases, it is just the coach's philosophy.


Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


Can a first baseman be called for a balk?

Yes if he there is a runner on first and the first baseman has his foot is across foul line .


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


When there is a runner on first and the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman should the first baseman throw the ball to second?

If the first baseman has time they should tag the runner. If the runner is already too far they should throw it. If the first baseman is close to first, they should step on first and then throw the ball to the shortstop at second. Note: Tagging first base first takes away the force out at second and the runner must then be tagged. They are also allowed to return to first base.


Can a first basemen interfere with a runner if play is at first base?

Yes a first baseman can interfere with a runner if the play is at first base


What rule in baseball says that the first baseman must have both feet in fair territory while holding a runner on at first base?

There is no such rule Official baseball rule book section 4.03: When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. However the N.A.P.B.L. Umpires Manual also states: Do not insist on the first baseman playing with both feet in fair territory unless the offensive team protest. Then enforce it equally for both teams.


Can a runner knock over the first baseman on his way to first?

only if he is in your baseline


Who covers first on a bunt with a runner on first and a right handed batter?

second baseman


Can you toss your glove with the baseball in it to a first baseman and the runner be out?

lol and yes if you he has the ball making this wacky play the runner is out


Heres the situation runner on 1st and 2nd with no outs a ground ball is hit to the third baseman but the runner beat the third baseman to the bag and the hitter made it to first fielders choice?

first choice would probably be first base


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


What is the penalty if a third baseman is not in fair territory when the pitcher delivers the ball to the batter?

It is a balk. Same for the first baseman.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


What is the first base-mans job in a softball game?

For defense the first baseman has to catch flyballs and field grounders sent in their direction. The first baseman also has to catch throws from other fielders to touch first base or the runner for the out. When the batter is bunting, the first baseman is expected to cover the space between the pitcher's mound and first base. The first baseman covers the first base bag in case the runner on first wants to steal. The first baseman usually bats for their team, but they do the same batting things as every other player


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


Can a picture throw to the first baseman who is off the bag even with the base runner?

nahbro


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


Does the runner need to be out in order to be a fielder's choice?

No, if there is a runner on first and the second baseman fields the ball and throws it to the shortstop, who muffs the play and allows both the runner and batter to advance/reach safely, the play would be ruled a fielder's choice and an error. It would still count as an at-bat and a non-hit for the batter, just as if the second-baseman had muffed the throw to the first-baseman with nobody on base.


Is a runner out if the first baseman is in foul territory and has the ball in one hand and touches the base with and empty glove?

yes because he has the ball in his possession when he touches the base so it is like touching the base with his foot.


If a runner on first base is hit by the ball off of the bat in fair territory is the runner out?

yes


Is the batter turned runner out for going into the dugout before reaching first base thinking the play had been madebut first baseman was not on the bag?

in the game of baseball is the batter turned runner automatically out for going into the dugout thinking the play would be made, but the first baseman was never on the bag when the throw was received?