Best Answer

No you cannot, unless you don't move your feet. Otherwise it would be a travelling violation.

The above interpretation is incorrect for the NCAA. Below is from the NCAA rules casebook:


A.R. 114. A1 attempts a try at Team A's basket after having completed the

dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or the

flange or any other player. A1 runs and catches the ball before it

strikes the playing court. Is this traveling?

RULING: No. When A1 recovered his or her own try, A1 could

either dribble, pass or try again. There is no team control by either

team when a try is in flight. However, when the shot clock expires

and a try by A1 or a teammate has not struck the ring or the flange, it

shall be a violation of the shot-clock rule.

(Rule 4-70.1, 4-15.4.c and 9-11.2)

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Only if he catches it and releases it while he is in the air

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago


This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a shooter get their own rebound on an air ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is it considered traveling or some other violation for a player to shoot the ball not a free throw shot hit the backboard but miss the rim and then get his own rebound?

No, it is not consider a traveling vioation. If the ref considers it a shot, the shooter can even catch their own "air ball" without it being a violation.

If you rebound your own air ball without the opposing team touching the ball what violation would it be What violation would it be called?

I think that would be considered traveling. You are advancing the ball without dribbling.

Can a shooter rebound his air ball?

Not in the NBA- that is called a travel. In the NCAA, yes, provided it is a bonefide shot attempt, in the opinion of the official. Rule 9, paragraph 6 of the NCAA Rule Book indicates that any shot attempt constitutes a loose ball and hence, anyone can recover it.

Do airballs count as a rebound?

No, by definition, you must have full possession of the ball in order for it to count as a rebound.

Can a shooter recover his own shot that did not hit rim or backboard?

Yes and no. If someone else touched the ball, then you are eligible to touch the ball again. If no one touched it and you grab it again, it is considered traveling.

Can a person shooting a free throw rebound their own miss?

Yes, but it most touch the rim first or if it completely missed the rim, they could grab the air ball before it goes out of bounds or if anyone else grabs it.

Can you jump and shoot the ball off the backboard come down and get your own rebound and go back up and shoot the ball again?

Yes, as long as the ball hits some part of the goal, its not traveling.

Is airball a compound word?

YES!!! Because both 'air' and 'ball' are stand alone words in their own right.

Can a player retrieve his own air ball without travelling being called?

no, it will be called almost every time.

Do you have to take the ball back after a missed shot playing half court?

There are two methods of playing a half-court game. One method is that if the ball is missed but hits the rim or backboard, the opposite team (the team that shot the ball can rebound and shoot as they please) must take the ball back. If the ball is missed and hits nothing, then the opposing team does not have to take the ball back. The second method is the same except that the ball must be taken back under all circumstances for the opposing team, should they gain possession of the ball.

How do you know if you are just the rebound girl when the guy you are with has cheated on you two weeks into the relationship with his ex whom he was clearly not over?

I'm sorry to say you are the rebound girl because he keeps seeing his ex and as you said (answered your own question) he's not over her yet. The ball is in your court and you hold the power by telling him to make a choice or you're walking away because you don't share your boyfriends.

Can a person shooting the ball rebound their own miss even if it does not touch the rim or backboard?

Yes, in the NCAA when the ball is shot, after it has left the hand of the shooter, it is in possession of neither team. Therefore anyone, including the shooter, can catch the ball, resume dribbling or pass/shoot. The referee must determine that it was actually a shot. Every level of basketball recognizes this rule, except the NBA where it is sometimes traveling and sometimes not, depending on the year. (reference NCAA casebook 2009 page 45 A.R. 110. NCAA rule book rule 4-68.1, and 4-15.4.c)NO YOU CANT RAYMOND GUAN. The peroson who answered above is currently stupid. If you did then they would call it pass to yourself. Then why did they even make that rule about pass to yourself... ha? get powned!!! man....I KNOW YOU RAYMOND GUAN WHO IS THE SISTER OF ANNA GUAN. I BET YOU DONT KNOW ME... HEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHHEHEHEI SOOO KNOW YOU.......GUESS WHO I AM?????