Best Answer

A runner can slide into any base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-06-10 12:36:05
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner slide from home to first base?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Does the base runner have to slide if there is a play at home plate?

No they dont if they dont wont to

Must a runner have to slide into home?

No, the only time a runner is forced to slide or avoid a play is when he has already been determined and called out on the base paths.

Can a runner back up on the bases between home and first base?

When proceeding to first a runner can not retreat towards home nor can they come to a complete stop of forward motion. If they do either of these the the runner is to be called out without need of a tag on the runner or the base. This only applies to a runner between home and first.

What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.

How do you score a runner missing first base?

When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.

Do you have to tag the runner in baseball if you through from home plate to first base?


Can the pitch slide into home plate to block the plate if he doesn't have the ball?

No. That would be an obstruction and the base-runner would be safe.

Why does softball have to first base pads?

To prevent injuries due to collisions on throws to first base. It is only used when a runner is going from home to first. Once the runner arrives at first, it is no longer used...

Does the runner need to slide in at home?

only in little league

Does the run count if the the runner crosses home before the final out is committed on a runner who is tagged running to first base?

Yes it does count because the runner crossed home before the final out.!

When can a runner steal second base?

when the pitcher makes his first move towards home.

If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.

People also asked