answersLogoWhite

0

  • Baseball
  • Softball
  • Baseball Rules and Regulations

Can a runner run back towards a base he was occupying to avoid a tag on a force play?

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2010-07-28 03:29:21

Best Answer
Copy

Yes, of course he can as long has he stays within 3 feet of a line directly between him and either base, he can go either direction. He's still obligated to get to the base ahead of him eventually if there's a force.

2010-07-28 03:29:21
This answer is:
πŸ€“
🀯
πŸ€”
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: Can a runner run back towards a base he was occupying to avoid a tag on a force play?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

What is an occupying force?

an occupying force is a force that occupies something. forces that are occupied by this something are called occupied forces.


When you are a runner at first base do you have to run on a ground ball?

Yes, because the hitter is running to first base. If you are still there, you'll both be on a base. That means you are both out. Both runner and batter are not out. The fielder will need to tag either 2nd base for the force out or tag both players occupying 1st. If both players are occupying 1st and both are tagged while standing on first the runner that should have gone to 2nd will be out.


If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.


Is the runner out if the fielder has the ball in the glove and touches the base with his hand on a force?

Yes, the runner would be out because of the force play meaning that the runner has to go no matter what.


On defense if a runner is caught in a run down between 2nd and 3rd and there is a runner on 3rd base should we throw home to not allow the run to score?

Assuming there is no force at home, chase the runner towards third base and that increases your chance of getting one or perhaps two outs. By throwing home, again assuming no force, the runner could get back to second safely and the throw to home is meaningless.


What is the call if a base runner goes into second base standing up on a ground ball?

If it is a force play then as long as they beat the ball to the base then they are safe. If it is not a force play then the player must avoid the tag.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


What are the natural forces that affect running?

Drag. This is the force which acts against a runner and is the resultant force of the runner pushing against the particles in the air. Drag is affected by the mass and surface area of the runner. Friction is another force which can affect running.


Can a tag be considered a force out?

On a force out, you may either tag the base the runner is being forced to, or you may tag the runner before he gets to that base. If it is not a force out, you must tag the runner while he is off whatever base he has a legal right to occupy.


Force-out little league baseball?

The force-out rule is the same in little league as it is in the majors. If there is nowhere else for the runner to go because the runner behind him must advance, the force-out is at the base he's headed to.


If the first baseman tags a runner instead of the base is it a force out?

yes it is a force out


With less than two outs does the runner at first have to advance if the batter is forced out at first?

No. But this rule does not come into effect until AFTER the force out at first base occurs. In other words, until that force out at first happens, the runner who was on first must advance. But AFTER the force out occurs, the runner who was on first need not do so. If a first baseman steps on first and then immediately fires to second base, the person covering second base must tag out the runner coming towards second base. I've seen twenty-year veterans of MLB forget this -- they take the throw from the first baseman after a force out at first base, step on second base, and then walk away without tagging the runner.


What is the attraction force?

To go towards the force


What is the push or pull?

Force applied towards you (pull) or force applied towards the object (push)


If a base runner and the ball reach the base at the same time on a force play is the runner safe or out?

MLB rules state the ball must beat the runner to the base on a force play. If the ball and the runner reach the base at the same time the runner would be considered safe. However, there are no ties in baseball. The runner either gets there before the ball or after...Ties are only a myth.....


Can a runner score before a force out is made at second after a failed attempt of making a force out at first?

IF you mean there are 2 outs then the answer is no, if the out is a force out then the run doesn't count even if the runner touched home before the ball reached the force out bag.


Does the run count if the third out results from a runner stepping out of the baseline?

It depends on whether or not the 3rd Out was a force play or not. If not a force play, the run scores if the runner crosses the plate before the other runner is tagged out. This is called a timing play.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


What is the force that pulls the moon towards the Earth?

The force is gravitational force.


Bases loaded 1 out ball is hit to firstbaseman who tags runner and throws home is it a force at home still and can runners revert?

By tagging a trailing runner, the force has been removed, so there is no force at home.


Term that fits this definition a collaborator?

Someone who co-operates secretly with an enemy occupying force


What is the force that pulls towards the earth?

Gravitational force.


If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


A runner is on 1st and 2nd a ball is hit to the pitcher he drops the ball and the 2nd base runner steps on 3rd and heads back to 2nd and realizes the pitcher drops the ball is it still a force out?

yes it still is a force the runner has to go


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.