answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Runners can advance in any case even with 2 outs. The batter is different. If first base is occupied with less than 2 outs then the batter cannot advance but everyone else can... It would be more of a steal than drop strike though. If there are 2 outs and he strikes out on a dropped strike, the batter is allowed to advance with a runner already occupying first. In any other case you can go whenever you please

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No. On any foul ball that is not caught, the ball is dead and runners may not advance.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Yes, a runner can advance if he tags up.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a runner advance from first or second on a caught foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


Baseball runner on first base fly ball is caught in field of play by first baseman but first baseman then falls out of field of play how many bases does runner on first advance one or two bases?

There is no free base or "advancing" by rule based on this play. Runner tries to advance at his or her own discretion if they take up.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


If there is a runner on second why do you throw to first and get the batter out and let the second base runner advance to third?

The out to third is more risky, and you might end up with two men on vs an easy out.


What is the rule in asa softball if a runner tags base before the flyball is caught?

The runner has to run back to first base before the ball is thrown to get her out. She has to tag back on first no matter if the ball was caught before she tagged second base or not. She has to tag back at first to be able to run to second or she will most likely be out.


Does a runner who is at first when the ball was hit and caught in the air in center field get to go to third if when they try to double him off at first and over throw and the ball goes out of play?

He stays at first, the shortstop caught the ball and so the batter is out, therefore no one can run. The runner can run from first once he/she has 'tagged up'. Tagged up means that the runner touched first base after the defensive player has caught the ball.


Do runners at first and 3rd advance one base if a line drive is caught and in the process of doubling the runner off of first baseball is trown out of play?

if the run scores from third before the runner at 2nd is declared out the run stands if not then no run....i.e. in anything highschool level and under to little league a startegy its to get into a rundown in between 1st and 2nd allowing the runner from third to score


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


Can a runner who went to 2nd base come back to 1st on caught foul tip ball?

If the batter is caught out there is no longer any forces at any base so the runner going to second can go back to first.


Does runner need to tag up if a ball is caught after a rebound from another player?

Runners may tag up and advance after the first fielder touches the ball.


A batter is touched by a fair ball and is declared out with a runner on first can the runner on first advance to second or must he stay at first?

If a runner is touched by a fair batted ball, in fair territory, before passing a fielder, it's interference, the ball is dead, the runner is Out, and all other runners must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance due to the batter being awarded 1B on the play.