Best Answer

A Queen can move more than one space, but it can never 'jump' an intervening piece. If the intervening piece is of the same colour, the Queen must halt her move on the preceding square. If the piece is an opponent's, the furthest she can go is to take the piece, stopping her move on that piece's square.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a queen jump more than one space in chess?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a queen in chess move move more than 1 space?

Yes a Queen Can Move in more than 1 space and in any direction

Can the queen jump 2 pieces at once in chess?

The Queen may not move as you described because it is an illegal move - only the knight has the power to jump other chess pieces . ~ See related link below for more information as to how the Queen moves .A:In regular chess, the Queen cannot jump any pieces at all. (The only piece which can jump an intervening pawn or piece is the Knight.)*However, there are versions of chess with alternate rules, known collectively as fairy chess, in which the Queen might be granted Knight-like features, including the ability to jump over a piece rather than capturing it.*And the King, while castling, can in a sense be said to have jumped over the Rook.

In chess a knight can jump over opponents pieces but can it jump over more than one at a time?

Yes it can

Where does the queen have to be placed in chess?

The White Queen is placed upon the D1 white square whereas the Black Queen is placed at the D8 black square . The correct orientation, as per the chess rules, is with a black square on your left side as facing the chess board. One of the more common mistakes in setting up the chess board is reversing the king and queen chess pieces. Remember, as per the chess rules, the queen is always on her own color while the king is always on the opposite color . You can look to the link below for further information regarding the Queen in chess .

Can you knock out the queen in chess?

Yes but it's usually more difficult to

Are there more moves on a chess board than atoms in space?

more than all the positive atoms in space

Can you have more than 1 queen in chess?

Yes , you can have as many queens as long as they are promoted from pawns being advanced to the end of the board otherwise more than one queen is illegal and in contradiction of the chess rules .

Can you use a double queen in chess?

yes of course. You could use more.

In which country was chess first developed?

India, where chess was played with an Elephant instead of a Rook and no Queen, other changes were signigicant from modern chess but are lost to history. The Europeans got a hold of chess and then turned the pieces int more recognizable characters, hence knight, king, queen, and rook.

How to double the queen in chess?

To have two , or more , queens would require that you advance a pawn to the last rank where you may then promote the pawn to a queen or any other chess piece other than a king .

In chess can you have more than one queen?

You can have up to 10 queens (9 pawns promoted to queen + 1 original queen). Very rare does this happen.

How can you jump a high jump in gta vice city?

By clicking @ space more times