answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

On defense, a courtesy runner can sub for any position they want the next half inning thy play (if the coach wants) or just come out of the game. They can't, however, sub in again as a courtesy runner, and if taken out of the game from pinch running (not DH or playing a defensive position) they can't come back into the game.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-03 05:18:45
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a player who has entered the game as a courtesy runner only later sub in for another player?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How often can a courtesy runner be used in an inning?

Courtesy runners are handled differently from one sanctioning body to another. Typically you can have a courtesy runner for the pitcher and the catcher each time they get on base. If you are seeing the same "courtesy runner" multiple times in one inning for anyone on base then you are likely seeing a base bandit not a courtesy runner.


Can a pitcher reenter a game if he is pinched ran for?

In fastpitch softball, any player removed from the game and substituted by another player is allowed on re-entry. Some sanctioning bodies also allow for a courtesy runner for the pitcher and the catcher. Using a courtesy runner does not follow the substitution rule. In baseball, any player removed from the game is out. Period. No re-entry allowed.


Who is credited with scoring a run when using a courtesy runner?

The courtesy runner is credited with scoring the run.


If the catcher is on third base with no outs can the coach replace him with another runner?

A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.


If a courtesy runner is on base when their turn at bat comes is she out?

A courtesy runner should never be on base if she has a spot in the line-up. A courtesy runner is supposed to be a girl who is not playing in the game at all. If you are playing with a continuous line-up, then the courtesy runner should be the girl who made the last out, or the least likely girl to get up in the same inning. This makes it so their situation will not happen.


In fastpitch softball if a courtesy runner ends up scoring who is credited with the run the original batter or the courtesy runner?

The hitter gets an RBI ( run batted in) but the runner gets the credit


In ASA softball can you be a courtesy runner and then a pinch runner for someone else?

NO


When a base runner passes another runner he is out what happens to the runner he passed Is he out or continues to run to the next base?

The player who passed another on the base paths is out, the runner that was passed can continue to run to the next base.


Can you let another player run for you in baseball?

Yes. The substitute runner is called the "pinch runner".


Can a courtesy runner steal a base?

Yes, courtesy runners are put in strategically for stealing bases, or having a better chance to score on any hit.


Do you score a run when a defensive player crosses home plate in baseball?

No, only an offensive player can score a run, and they must be in order. If one runner passes another runner, he's out.


If first base runner is hit in foot by grounder while running to second is he out?

If the ball hits the runner before it passes a defensive player other than the pitcher, he is out. If the ball has passed another player (like the 2nd baseman) and then it hits the runner he is not out.


Can a base runner pass another base runner?

No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.


What is a pinch runner?

A pinch runner is a substitute for a runner that is already on base. If player A is on second base and the manager decides to replace player A with player B, player B would be called a pinch runner.


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


Can a base runner touch another base runner?

Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


Is a base runner out if he passes another base runner?

Yes


On dropped third strike if you tag the bat is the batter out?

No. You must tag the player or throw him out at first base - or get another runner out by force!!


Is it legal in NFL football for one player to drag another across the goal line?

"No player on offense may assist a runner except by blocking for him." -From NFL rules digest.


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.


Can a runner be legally clipped in high school football?

Yes. NFHS Rule 9-2-5c. A player shall not clip except to tackle a runner or player pretending to be a runner.


If a ball ricochets off one defensive player and another has the opportunity to make a play the runner shall be out only if they intentionally interfere with the second defensive player true or false?

It doesn't matter if the runner intentionally interferes with the 2nd fielder or not. If he interferes with him in any way, shape or form that prevents the fielder from making a play that could possibly record an out then the runner will be called out by default no matter what.


Why did Alexander Joy Cartwright invent baseball?

He made the game less violent fielders could not tag a runner by throwing the ball at him. Instead, the fielder had to throw the ball to another player, who would tag the runner or touch the base.


When one base runner passes another while circling the bases which runner is called out?

"Any runner who passes a proceeding runner before that runner is out, will be called out" rule 7.08. so in other words the runner that passes the other runner is out.