answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, if the player establishes himself in bounds by placing both feet inside the court. If one foot has not been re-established, then it is a violation of being out of bounds while collecting the ball, resulting in a turnover.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

A player must reestablish position inbounds before touching the ball if that player has gone out of bounds. Position would be reestablished when the player that had gone out of bounds get both feet back inbounds. Once both feet are back inbounds, then the player may touch the ball.

**Not sure if there is any differences between HS, College or NBA. According to NBA rules: A player in control of a dribble who steps on or outside a boundary line, even though not touching the ball while on or outside that boundary line, shall not be allowed to return inbounds and continue his dribble. He may not even be the first player to touch the ball after he has re-established a position inbounds.

The link is http://www.nba.com/analysis/rules_10.html?nav=ArticleList under section 3b

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

you cant dribble the ball out of bounds but a player can step out of bounds and the ref wont call anything ( i dnt know why you would want to step out though because if a teammate passes it to you the other team gets the ball)

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

yes as long as he doesnt touch the ball when hes out of bounds

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

yes they can , anytime they want too, however with the ball it is called out of bounds

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Only if another player touches the ball first or the original player establishes position in bounds by having both feet on the court.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Yes of course they can as long as they are'nt on the bench or were the person that went out of bounds with the ball in the first place!

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Yes, that is allowed in Basketball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

No

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
3y ago

no

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a player touch the ball and step out of bounds and come back in a gain possession of the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a defencive player step out of bound and be the first to touch the football?

can a defensive player step out of bounds and go back in bounds and be the first to touch the football


In basketball when a player has gone out of bounds and comes back with one foot on he court and one in the air is he out of bounds if he receives the ball again?

Both feet have to be established in bounds before the player can touch the ball again without being called out of bounds


Can a player dribble down court lose the ball go out of bounds come back on the court and be the first person to touch the ball?

yes as long as all of your body is in bounds before you touch the ball again


Can an NFL defensive player run out of bounds come back in and be the first to touch the ball?

No, whether in Basketball or Football, a player may not step out of bounds and receive the ball. However, once another player touches the ball, other than the one currently holding the ball, that player may receive the ball.


Can you be the first player to touch the basketball if you go out of bounds?

yeah, ur thinking of football when if a receiver goes out of bounds, he can't touch the ball first. In basketball, you can jump into the crowd if u want and back and then still get the ball.


If a player in basketball saves the ball from going out of bounds but he himself goes out and then comes back and picks up the ball is this ok?

Yes...they must have 2 feet in bounds first


When playing basketball if the ball is passed and goes out of bounds but is caught live ball by opposite team who is it out on?

in order for a ball in basketball to be considered to be out of bounds the ball MUST touch/hit the ground out bounds ... if the ball does not touch/hit out of bounds the ball is still live a play can go out of bounds to throw/pass the ball back in bounds so long as the player that is going for the ball bounds feet are in the air when he makes contact with the ball ...


Player runs out of bounds and back to make tackle?

A player that runs out of bounds on purpose can not be the first player to make contact with the ball or the ball carrier. If they are pushed out of bounds by a blocker and make and effort to get back in quickly, they can make the tackle.


If a fumble occurs and the player is out of bounds can he come back and pick up the ball and continue play?

A defensive player may go out of bounds and then come back in bounds and make a tackle or recover a fumble. An offensive player may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then catch a pass. The only other rule about going out of bounds in the college rulebook is that a member of the kicking team may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then come back onto the field to make a play.


Can a professional football player run out of bounds and then come back in and make a tackle legally?

Well if the professional football player has the ball then no cuz if you go out of bounds then you go out of bounds so.


Can a ball be tipped back in bounds in the end zone for a touchdown?

yes, as long as the player that tips has not stepped out of bounds


When inbounding the basketball can it hit the ref and be considered in play?

A player can not touch the ball while they are out of bounds they can jump and touch hit it back inbounds. If the balls bounces or touches any where out of bounds then last person who touches, doesn't get the ball and it goes to the other team.