answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

you cant dribble the ball out of bounds but a player can step out of bounds and the ref wont call anything ( i dnt know why you would want to step out though because if a teammate passes it to you the other team gets the ball)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-26 21:34:00
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a player touch the ball and step out of bounds and come back in a gain possession of the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a defencive player step out of bound and be the first to touch the football?

can a defensive player step out of bounds and go back in bounds and be the first to touch the football


Can a defensive player player go out of bounds then when back on the field be the first to touch the ball?

yes, its only football that you cant go out of bounds and touch the ball first.


Can a player dribble the ball and step out of bounds without the ball and come back in bounds and gain possession of the ball?

Only if another player touches the ball first or the original player establishes position in bounds by having both feet on the court.


If a player steps out of bounds are they still elligable to get the ball?

A player can not touch the ball while they are out of bounds they can jump and touch hit it back inbounds. If the balls bounces or touches any where out of bounds then last person who touches, doesn't get the ball and it goes to the other team.


Can a player go out of bounds and then come back in to gain possession of the ball?

Yes of course they can as long as they are'nt on the bench or were the person that went out of bounds with the ball in the first place!


In basketball when a player has gone out of bounds and comes back with one foot on he court and one in the air is he out of bounds if he receives the ball again?

Both feet have to be established in bounds before the player can touch the ball again without being called out of bounds


Can a player who is out of bounds direct the ball back in bounds and continue play?

No. Once the ball touches a player that is out of bounds, the ball is considered out of bounds.


Can a player dribble down court lose the ball go out of bounds come back on the court and be the first person to touch the ball?

yes as long as all of your body is in bounds before you touch the ball again


Can you be the first player to touch the basketball if you go out of bounds?

yeah, ur thinking of football when if a receiver goes out of bounds, he can't touch the ball first. In basketball, you can jump into the crowd if u want and back and then still get the ball.


Can a basketball player intentionally go out of bounds and then come back in bounds on offense?

No


When playing basketball if the ball is passed and goes out of bounds but is caught live ball by opposite team who is it out on?

in order for a ball in basketball to be considered to be out of bounds the ball MUST touch/hit the ground out bounds ... if the ball does not touch/hit out of bounds the ball is still live a play can go out of bounds to throw/pass the ball back in bounds so long as the player that is going for the ball bounds feet are in the air when he makes contact with the ball ...


Player runs out of bounds and back to make tackle?

A player that runs out of bounds on purpose can not be the first player to make contact with the ball or the ball carrier. If they are pushed out of bounds by a blocker and make and effort to get back in quickly, they can make the tackle.


Can a professional football player run out of bounds and then come back in and make a tackle legally?

Well if the professional football player has the ball then no cuz if you go out of bounds then you go out of bounds so.


Can a ball be tipped back in bounds in the end zone for a touchdown?

yes, as long as the player that tips has not stepped out of bounds


If a receiver is forced out by a defender is he eligible to come back in play and catch the ball?

If any player goes out of bounds, you can not be the first one to touch the ball.If any player intentionally goes out of bounds, he cannot be the first one to touch the ball. However, if he is forced out by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, he is eligible to catch the ball.


Can a offense player go out of bounds then return to the field and receive a ball?

No...he becomes ineligible whereas a Defensive player can go out of bounds and come back in.


Can a player run out of bounds and come back in to make a play?

If he is on defense.


Can you run out of bounds to get around someone and come back in bounds to continue play during a game of football?

If the player with the ball steps out of bounds, the play is over. If another player steps out of bounds, he cannot rejoin that play unless he was forced out by an opponent.


If a player is out of bounds can he be the first to recover a fumble by the other team Example is Ohio State player recovering a Northwestern fumble.?

A defensive player may go out of bounds and then come back in bounds and make a tackle or recover a fumble. An offensive player may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then catch a pass. The only other rule about going out of bounds in the college rulebook is that a member of the kicking team may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then come back onto the field to make a play.


Can a defensive player run out of bounds then come back in to make a tackle as happened in the super bowl?

I read all the NFL penalty rules and there is no penalty for a defender being out of bounds or going out of bounds and tackling a ball carrier, which is why there was no penalty on the play. Because for a penalty to be called it would have to be against the rules, and there is no rule against it. So, yes, a defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and make a tackle. As a side note, some people claim the tackle rule is the same as the "out of bounds player being the first to touch the ball" as why this is illegal. These are two completely different circumstances and are not interchangeable.


Out of bounds pass in football?

In American Football, if a player has one foot out of bounds when he catches the football, he is out of bounds. If he has is in bounds when he catches the football then he caught it and it is a completed catch. If the player goes out of bounds and comes back in bounds and catches the football it is still an incomplete pass. However, if he was knocked out of bounds or if the ball was tipped, it may be a completed pass. The rules keep changing at all levels of the game.


Can a player that is throwing the ball in bounds pass it to another player that is also out of bounds on the base line?

No you can't because they would call it back out and the other team would bet the ball. Its like you throwing the ball to a person out of bounds.


Does the ball have to touch the ground to be a touch back in college football?

A "touchback" is when a change of possession occurs in the end zone of the defending team and the ball is downed without bringing it back into the field of play. This could occur any number of ways: A kickoff going into the end zone (and/or out-of-bounds), an interception, a forward-fumble into the end zone, etc. In any of these cases, the ball is "downed" in the end zone, but it does not have to physically touch the ground. A person who has intercepted the ball or received a kick in the end zone can take a knee or run out of bounds with the ball.


Can a defensive player go out of bounds then return to the field to tackle an offensive player?

yes the defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and tackle a player. the reason is because the defensive player doest have the ball so it would not be illeagle.


Can a football receiver be forced out of bounds and come back in and catch the ball?

If the receiver is forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, then yes, he can legally catch the ball. If he runs out of bounds voluntarily, then he cannot be the first person to touch the ball.