answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Only if the player was forced out of bounds by a defensive player.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-08-19 02:47:26
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a player run out of bounds then catch a pass in bounds?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When inbounding a pass can someone run out of bounds and be the first player to receive the pass?

No, whether in Basketball or Football, a player may not step out of bounds and receive the ball. However, once another player touches the ball, other than the one currently holding the ball, that player may receive the ball.


Can a professional football player run out of bounds and then come back in and make a tackle legally?

Well if the professional football player has the ball then no cuz if you go out of bounds then you go out of bounds so.


Can a player run out of bounds and come back in to make a play?

If he is on defense.


Do high school rules allow for two players to run out of bounds after a made basket and one player pass the ball to another player along the baseline before inbounding the ball?

yes


Can you run out of bounds to get around someone and come back in bounds to continue play during a game of football?

If the player with the ball steps out of bounds, the play is over. If another player steps out of bounds, he cannot rejoin that play unless he was forced out by an opponent.


Can a quarterback catch a tiped pass and run?

Yes.


Can you run out of bounds then back in to catch a football?

No, not unless: a) you were forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately came back onto the playing field, or b) someone else touches the ball first. Otherwise, you would be assessed a penalty for illegal touching, which is a loss of down -- same as if the pass were incomplete.


What are some football adverbs?

run or jump catch or pass


Can a defensive player go out of bounds then return to the field to tackle an offensive player?

yes the defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and tackle a player. the reason is because the defensive player doest have the ball so it would not be illeagle.


What Cowboy player touched a tipped pass allowing John Mackey to catch and run for an improbable touchdown in Super Bowl V?

Mel Renfro


Can two players run out of bounds in basketball?

All players can be out of bounds if they wish, but it will not get them anywhere.


Can a lineman catch the ball and run with it if it is not touched?

The linemen can only get it on a fumble or a bad pass.


Did the player have to be inbound to score a touchdown?

Yes. The technical way to score a touchdown is to have to ball "cross the plane" into the endzone without the player being down or out of bounds. With a catch, the player must establish himself as inbounds while maintaining possession. In the NFL, the player must do so with two feet inbounds. In NCAA Division I football, the player only needs to do so with one foot inbounds. With a run, the player must have not stepped out of bounds before the ball crosses the plane into he endzone.


Can a defensive player run out of bounds then come back in to make a tackle as happened in the super bowl?

I read all the NFL penalty rules and there is no penalty for a defender being out of bounds or going out of bounds and tackling a ball carrier, which is why there was no penalty on the play. Because for a penalty to be called it would have to be against the rules, and there is no rule against it. So, yes, a defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and make a tackle. As a side note, some people claim the tackle rule is the same as the "out of bounds player being the first to touch the ball" as why this is illegal. These are two completely different circumstances and are not interchangeable.


If you are taking the ball out of bounds in basketball can you pass the ball to a teammate who is also out of bounds?

If you pass the ball to someone that is also out of bounds then it would be a turnover and your team would lose the ball. so the answer is no you can not pass the ball to someone that is out of bounds. I am not sure about college and international basketball, but in the NBA you can pass the ball to someone out of bounds, after a made shot or free throw, as long as they are behind the same line as you are. If you are underneath the basket and you can't find someone to inbound to, one of your teammates can run behind the same line you are behind to take a pass from you and try to inbound. The five second clock for inbounding the ball does not reset if you do this. yes i forgot to say that you can switch players during the pass in but it is very risky with only 5 seconds to inbound. my basketball team can always get the ball out to someone to make a shot. This move is not very popular and can be risky with a delay penalty. But some people chose to risk it. In Ohio high school ball, you can pass from one team mate to another out of bounds after a made basket. The other person has to be behind the same end line as the original person taking it out of bounds. It is just like running the end line with the ball after a made basket. As a coach, I have used this before to get the ball inbounds when the other team is pressing. Team makes a shot, you take it out but cannot get it in. Another player goes out of bounds on the other side of the court, you pass to him, and then you step in bounds to get it back. Most defenses will not know what to do the first time they see this since it is rarely done. Keep in mind that if you are taking it out of bounds you can also run to the other side of the court after a made shot. The ball just has to be thrown in play (leave the hands of the passer) before 5 seconds are up.


Is a catch behind line of scrimmage considered a run?

It depends on where the quarterback is standing in relation to the receiver. If the pass is forward, it is still a pass even if the receiver is behind the line of scrimmage. If the pass is backwards, it is considered a lateral and therefore a run.


If Player A passes the ball to player B - who is out of bounds on an inbounds play does player b still have the runn of the baseline?

yes the inbounder is legally being changed he may still run the baseline


What player in the NFL has the longest pass run?

tony dorsett 99 tards


What are some verbs for football?

Run, Catch, Throw, Pass, Jump, Move, Kick, Tackles, Crouch, etc.


Is it a technical foul to run out of bounds to make an offensive cut in basketball?

No


At what times is someone in possession of the ball considered out of bounds if ones knee goes down in bounds but the ball hits out of bounds?

If his knee touches inbounds, he is considered tackled in the field of play, regardless if the the ball ends up out of bounds. The clock will continue to run


When can you run out of bounds tyring to inbound the ball?

After a made basket by the opposing team


Can you pick up your own dribble after run out of bounds?

No, that would be called a travel.


Can you run in boundary to catch a ball?

No you can't run in the boundary to catch a ball


Is it a completed pass if both knees are on the ground?

Yes. It is a completed pass if both knees are on the ground. The only situation that would make it an incomplete pass is if one or both knees were out of bounds. In college football, the play would be whistled dead and the line of scrimmage would be at the dead ball spot. In the NFL, if the receiver was not touched while in the process of making the catch, he is free to continue his forward progress until he is tackled. I have seen receivers roll while on the ground, and many times they dive or fall while making the catch and get up and run...