answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

YES ... this has happened in MLB game ... the batter batted on the left so the pitcher switched throwing hands when the batter seen that pitcher had swished throwing hands the batter switched batting sides ... as the batter swiched side the pitcher swiched his throwing arm ... this happened so much that the umpire had to tell the pitcher and batter to stop delaying the game and pick a side/arm ...

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-07-03 16:19:40
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a pitcher switch from left-handed to right-handed or vice versa to the same batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Was Joe DiMaggio a switch hitter?

No, he was a righthanded batter.


How many switch hitters have gotten 100 hits from each side of the plate?

Two Gary Templeton, St. Louis (NL), 154 games in 1979 (111 lefthanded, 100 righthanded) Willie Wilson, Kansas City (AL), 161 games in 1980 (130 lefthanded, 100 righthanded)


What is B T in a baseball roster?

The "B" stands for bats, whether the player hits from the right side or left side or is a switch hitter (S) The "T" stands for throws, whether the player throws righthanded or lefthanded.


Can a pitcher switch hands during a pitch to the same batter?

I believe so. I think Shane Victorino does it.


Can a batter who is a switch hitter change which side of the plate he hits from during a single at-bat?

noWrong!! The batter may switch sides of the plate as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber prepared to pitch. He could switch several times during the at-bat.


Is it legal to switch pitchers during an at bat?

Yes, there is no restriction on changing pitchers during an at bat, unless the current pitcher just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he faces. The pitcher must face at least one batter before he can be replaced, unless the pitcher is injured, or ejected from the game.


Can a batter switch bats during an at-bat?

Yes. The batter may bat from whichever side he/she chooses with whatever bat he/she chooses. However, once the pitcher is on the pitching rubber the batter may not switch sides nor bats until after that pitch.


Can a pitcher switch from throwing right handed to left handed during a single at bat?

The pitcher has to establish which hand he will be throwing with before a batter steps into the batters box.


What would happen if a switch-hitter batted against a switch-pitcher?

This actually happened not long ago in a semi-pro game. The pitcher switched hands, so the batter switched sides of the plate. Then the pitcher switched back, as did the batter. This literally went on for a minute or so, before the umpire finally stepped in and made them play ball. It was humorous to watch.


Can you switch pitchers in the middle of the count?

Yes. However, rules state a pitcher must pitch one complete at bat before being taken out of the game (unless the pitcher gets injured and cannot continue). So, as long as the batter being pitched to is not the first batter the pitcher is facing, the pitcher may be removed in the middle of the count.


Can a batter switch hit after a pitch has been made in MLB?

Yes, a batter can change from one side of the plate to the either during his at-bat, but he cannot do it once the pitcher is ready to pitch. Rule 6.06(b) states: A batter is out for illegal action when stepping from one batter's box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.


If a baseball pitcher were equally talented pitching left or right handed can he switch in the middle of an at bat?

pitchers may not switch throwing hands in the middle of an at bat. they may switch from hitter to hitter however There is nothing I have found in the MLB rules that states a pitcher cannot switch throwing hands when facing a single batter. Maybe someone can point out the specific rule that states what the above answerer says is factual? There is no rule in the official baseball scores that say a pitcher cannot change his hands. However, just as a batter cannot switch while the pitcher is on the rubber, so too can the pitcher not switch while on the rubber, as that would be an illegal motion while in the set position and be considered a balk (with runners on) or a ball (with bases empty).


Can a switch hitter change sides during a time at bat?

A batter can change sides of the plate as many times as they choose. Just like a manager can change pitchers as many times as they choose.No a batter cannot change sides, unless the opposing team brings in a new pitcher that throws with the other hand.Although managers may make unlimited batter substitutions, the same does not apply to pitchers. Unless he is injured, once a pitcher is brought into a game, he must face at least one batter before he can be taken out. The hitter can switch sides if there is a pitching change, but he can only do it once.Where is the rule in MLB that states a batter cannot switch sides multiple times when batting? I have seen this answer countless times and no one specifies a rule.UPDATED INFORMATION:There is no official rule governing this issue. All the rule books state is that a batter cannot switch sides at the plate when the pitcher is set to deliver a pitch. This means that he/she may switch as often as he/she would like as long as the pitcher is not in his/her motion. There is nothing stating the number of times that he/she may switch sides at a single at bat. That is only a myth.


Can a switch pitcher switch arms during an at-bat?

Yes


Can a pitcher switch throwing arms during a single at bat?

Yes. A switch-pitcher is allowed to change hands during an at-bat. At the start of the at-bat, the pitcher must declare which arm he will throw with so the batter can determine which side of the plate he will bat at. Each player may switch sides one time during the at-bat and must make this known to the umpire-in-chief before-hand.


If a switch hitter bats as a lefty and the other team after the first pitch changes the pitcher can he then switch to the other side of the plate?

A batter may change sides of the plate at any time during an at-bat as long as the pitcher is not in the set position -- that is to say, on the rubber. (See rule 6.06b)


Has there ever been a switch handed pitcher?

yes there was a switch pitcher and his name was pat venditte on the new york yankees and you could switch the way your batting even if your not a switch hitter cause many people say it would not be fair that the pitcher can switch hands and most of the batters aren't switch hitters so they can only switch sides three times and then they had to stay where they are even if they're aren't a switch hitter


Can a pitcher switch positions during his pitches?

nope


Is a switch hitter required to declare a side before batting?

Not in MLB. A batter may bat from whatever side he wants to on whatever pitch he wants to. The only restriction is that the side the batter is on when the pitcher steps on the pitching rubber is the side the batter must bat from for that pitch. A switch hitter could alternate sides for each pitch if he so desired. Rules concerning the batter can be found in Section 6 of the Official MLB Rules.


During an at bat can a switch hitter change sides of the plate?

Yes, the player may surely switch sides; he may do so as long as the pitcher is not in the "ready position" (see rule 6.06),and, shall be called out if the batter attempts to switch sides during the pitcher's windup.(Incidentally, there has always been a popular myth in the baseball culture that a batter can only switch sides before there are two strikes. This is just a false statement). Read your baseball rulebook! Yes, he can. It usually happens when the opposing team changes pitchers. Generally, left-handed hitters hit better against right-handed pitchers (and vice versa), so if a switch hitter is batting left-handed against a right-handed pitcher, and the other team changes to a lefty in the middle of the at-bat, the switch hitter will usually move to the right side of the plate to counter this. There is no rule in the MLB rule book that states how many times a batter can switch sides during an at bat. However, once the pitcher steps on the rubber, whatever side the batter is on is the side he must bat from for that pitch. Per above, there is no rule in the rulebook that states that he cannot change from one batter's box to the other in the middle of an at-bat. The only rule about switching boxes is 6.06b which says that he cannot switch boxes if the pitcher is in the ready position. Otherwise, no problem. yeah they can i have done it before addendum - PBUC 'Pat Venditte rule' Pitcher must indicate which arm he will use to throw the next pitch and then the batter must take either box. I am not sure what rule number in the PBUC that this falls under. If anyone has it please add it for me.


What is it called when a batter can hit from either side of the plate?

The batter is called a switch hitter.


When a batter switches boxes can he cross the plate or does he have to walk behind the Umpire?

Absolutely he can cross the plate if he wants to. The reason they walk behind the umpire is just out of common courtesy. When you step over the plate, you risk the chance of kicking dirt on it. The batter can only switch boxes if he is a switch hitter and a new pitcher comes in. Otherwise a batter must remain on the same side of the plate for the entire At-Bat.


Why did Mickey Mantle become a switch-hitter?

For various reasons, batters hit better when they are on the side of the plate opposite from the side the pitcher is throwing from. A batter who can hit equally well from both sides of the plate thus eliminates any advantage a pitcher throwing from the same side would have. Thus, Mantle was raised to be a switch hitter by his family.


Can a right handed pitcher change to left handed in a game?

Yes, but if he starts a batter right-handed he must finish that batter right-handed (or left-handed if he started the batter left-handed). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Would it be possible for someone to note the rule in MLB, or in any organized baseball league, that states a pitcher cannot change hands to a batter during an at bat. This question comes up a lot with the question of 'can a batter switch sides of the plate during an at bat'. It would be great if someone could note the rule concerning this.


Can the batter switch boxes after 2 strikes?

Yes he can.