According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it
On a punt, the ball would simply be given to the receiving team at the 20 yard line. Touchback, no points. That's because the kicking team can't be the first to touch a scrimmage kick (punts, placekicks, dropkicks). If they do touch it first, the ball is dead and still goes to the receiving team. On a kickoff, if the ball went into the end zone and the kicking team recovered, it would be a touchdown for the kicking team. Free kicks are available for either team to recover, provided the ball has traveled at least 10 yards.
You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'
The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it. A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return. The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.
Once the ball has gone 10 yards after being kicked during a kickoff, the ball is indeed live! During a punt, however, someone on the receiving team must touch the football for it to be live. The ball is always live during a kick. The only thing in question is who can recover, and when. On free kicks (including kickoffs and free kicks following a safety), the receiving team can recover the ball at any time, and the kicking team can recover either after it has traveled 10 yards or after the receiving team touches it after any distance. On scrimmage kicks (field goals and punts), the kicking team gives up possession of the ball unless (1) the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage, (2) the kicking team then recovers the ball, and (3) the down played was not 4th down. In any other situation, the receiving team takes the ball. Once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, the only way the kicking team can retake possession is if the receiving team fumbles, muffs, or touches the ball and the kicking team recovers.
On a punt, if the kicking team is the first to touch the ball, it's called an "illegal touch" and the ball is instantly spotted wherever the ball was touched by the kicking team. The receiving team takes over possession from there on a first down.
The receiving team has to line up at least 10 yards away from the kickoff spot, but as soon as the ball is kicked, they can move in to receive the ball. Remember, the rule requiring the ball to travel 10 yards applies only to the kicking team. The receiving team can touch and recover the ball after it has traveled any distance, even if it only goes a yard from the tee.
The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.
If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point. That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.
Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.
the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.
If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.
No, the receiving team may attempt to take possession at any time after the kick. It is the kicking team that must wait for the ball to travel 10 yards before they can be the first to touch it. However, should a member of the receiving team touch the ball before it travels 10 yards and fumble/muff it, the kicking team can recover the ball and take possession without penalty.
There is no such thing as an onside punt because if you punt it, the other team has to touch the ball before you can recover it. There is such thing as an onside kick on a kickoff when the ball can go ten yards then any team can recover it. Or on an onside kickoff if it hits the receiving team, anyone can recover it
no it starts with a kickoff.
No it doesn't, but one of the receiving team must touch it 1st if it hasen't hit the ground to make it a live ball. Mark
Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.
No member of the kicking team may touch the ball until it has travelled 10 yards from where the ball was kicked unless a member of the receiving team touches it first.
It is a touchback.
yes... they can its happened to me beforeNo. A scrimmage kick can only be recovered by the receiving team. It's exactly the same as a punt: If the kicking team is first to touch the ball, that constitutes an illegal touch. The only way the kicking team could maintain possession after kicking a field goal is if:The kick was no good, and the receiving team fields the ball and then loses possession.The kick was no good, and the receiving team touches the ball first within the field of play and beyond the line of scrimmage.The kick is taken on first, second, or third down, is blocked, doesn't cross the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers.If a team caught its own field goal kick, the ball would be dead where the catch was made, and the opposing team would put it into play from that spot.
it is a touchback
kicking throwing catching
Just a few of his many. (these are noticable)Most receiving touch downsMost touch downs in SuperbowlMost Receiving yards
by kicking it like a foot ball
As soon as anyone from the kicking team touches the ball, it is considered to be Illegal Touching. The receiving team takes possession of the ball where the Illegal Touch occurred. Just because the ball was touched, it does not mean it is a dead ball. The receiving team can try to get possession of the ball and move it forward. If the punt returner touches the football and loses possession, it can be recovered by the kicking team. However, given the way punts are covered in the NFL, this is unlikely to occur. The punt returner would likely be surrounded by players from the punting team, who typically crowd around the ball so it cannot be returned. The punt returner would most likely let the punting team down the ball and have his team take possession where the Illegal Touch took place.