Yes the football can be advanced by any team Incorrect - the defense cannot advance a fumble in high school football. The play is blown dead upon fumble and the ball spotted where the change in possession occurred.
Yes. If the receiving team has gained control of the ball and then fumbled, the ball can be recovered and returned by the kicking team. If the ball is 'muffed' (ball touches a member of the receiving team but no member of the receiving team has possession) the ball can be recovered by the kicking team but not advanced.
The only 'weird' fumble rule is on 4th down. On 4th down, only the fumbler may advance his own fumble. If any other offensive player gets possession, the ball is dead and placed at the spot of the fumble.
Since a kickoff is, by definition, not 4th down, it can be advanced.
Obviously its two points for the returning team.
The Garbage Picking Field Goal Kicking Philadelphia Phenomenon was created in 1998.
The duration of The Garbage Picking Field Goal Kicking Philadelphia Phenomenon is 1.3 hours.
Special Teams. Defense is off the field at this point.
It depends on why it didn't cross the line of scrimmage. A blocked kick, whether a field goal attempt or a punt, is a live ball. Either team may attempt to advance the ball (but no forward passes are permitted).A field goal attempt or punt that is kicked so poorly that it does not reach the line of scrimmage is governed by the normal rules of the type of kick, a field goal attempt is a live ball and may be advanced by either team, a punt must be touched first by the receiving team.So, if a punt or field goal attempt does not reach the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the opponent, they will receive 1st & 10 from where they recovered it (and advanced it to, if applicable).
The kicking tee is one of the most important tools on the football field. The tee was first used in 1889.
Yes. In both college and the NFL, if a field goal attempt does not cross the line of scrimmage and is recovered by the kicking team, they will continue with possession of the ball. This ruling doesn't really come into play on 4th down kicks because the kicking team will lose possession of the ball on downs. But on third down, if a field goal attempt is blocked and the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage, should the kicking team recover the ball they keep possession and it will be fourth down. If the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, possession goes to the defense.
According to the NFL Rulebook: " A kickoff is illegal unless it travels 10 yards OR is touched by the receiving team. Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball. Receivers may recover and advance. Kicking team may recover but NOT advance UNLESS receiver had possession and lost the ball. " According to the NFL Rules, the kicking team may not advance the ball on a kickoff unless it has been possessed first by the receiving team. In the play you saw in the Washington/Seattle playoff game, the ball went unpossessed by the receiving team when the kicking team gained control. In that case, possession is awarded to the kicking team at the spot where the kicking team gained control of the ball. no. the ball is dead where the kicking team touched it
Three points at a time.
The Garbage Picking Field Goal Kicking Philadelphia Phenomenon - 1998 TV is rated/received certificates of: Australia:PG Greece:K
As long as the ball ges 10 yards and is grounded at some point during the kick it is a free ball and may be recovered in the field of play by either team.
If it doesn't cross the line of scrimmage and the kicking team recovers the ball, the kicking team can kick again on the next down. This happened this week in Iowa vs Northern Iowa. Read about it here: http://scores.espn.go.com/ncf/recap?gameId=292482294