There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.
The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.
The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.
If a fielder is making a play, he has the right to block the base with any part of his body, so, yes, he would be out.
So it would depend if the fielder was making a play. If the ball is not hit or thrown to the fielder then it is obstruction and the runner is awarded the base the umpire feels he would of reached.
The runner is out once he is tagged, assuming no force out.
If the runner kicks a batted ball, the runner is out. If the ball had been touched by a fielder first, the runner is not out and can continue.
Yes a first baseman can interfere with a runner if the play is at first base
Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.
Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.
Yes, however it is not recommended because if the first basemen is on the base while the runner is running and the runner runs into the first basemen there will be no calls made on interference and injury is very possible. This is why you have the orange/white double first bases in youth softball. The first baseman can actually be called for interference if they are blocking the white base in youth softball just as they can for blocking second or third.
It depends on what the meaning behind the bunt is, and what side you are batting from. Also the defensive set can be a contributing factor. If its a bunt to get on base you are probably going to put it down the first base line, with the first basemen holding the runner on. For a sacrifice bunt to move the runner, anywhere but directly to the pitcher and fair should do.
It is ruled a stolen base
A first base mitt, sunglasses, and fast reflexes
A first base mitt , sunglasses , fast reflexes
Either the second basemen or the short stop in responsible for covering second when a runner is trying to steal.
The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.
If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.
This is umpire's discretion, but usually if the runner is in the runner's lane (the two parallel lines starting half-way up the foul line between home plate and first base) the runner will not be called out. However, if in the umpire's judgment the runner is in the runner's lane but is deliberately trying to interfere with the throw, the runner can be called out for interference.