can a defensive player step out of bounds and go back in bounds and be the first to touch the football
A defensive player may go out of bounds and then come back in bounds and make a tackle or recover a fumble. An offensive player may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then catch a pass. The only other rule about going out of bounds in the college rulebook is that a member of the kicking team may not go out of bounds voluntarily and then come back onto the field to make a play.
I read all the NFL penalty rules and there is no penalty for a defender being out of bounds or going out of bounds and tackling a ball carrier, which is why there was no penalty on the play. Because for a penalty to be called it would have to be against the rules, and there is no rule against it. So, yes, a defensive player can run out of bounds and come back in and make a tackle. As a side note, some people claim the tackle rule is the same as the "out of bounds player being the first to touch the ball" as why this is illegal. These are two completely different circumstances and are not interchangeable.
I have the same question as in last nights Vikings Packers game that is exactly what happened and there was no flag. I thought there should have been. Now I don't know. The result of that play was a tipped ball for an interception.
yes as long as he doesnt touch the ball when hes out of bounds
When a player steps on the out of bounds line, the ball is out of bounds and the opposing team will get possession. It doesn't matter if a defender commits a foul afterwards, the ball was out of bounds first, so this is the call.
A player that runs out of bounds on purpose can not be the first player to make contact with the ball or the ball carrier. If they are pushed out of bounds by a blocker and make and effort to get back in quickly, they can make the tackle.
Only if another player touches the ball first or the original player establishes position in bounds by having both feet on the court.
If the player fails to cross the ball where ever the marker is before he physically steps out of bounds then it is not a first down. Although I'm not certain, I think the ball has to cross the marker in bounds as well.
If any player goes out of bounds, you can not be the first one to touch the ball.If any player intentionally goes out of bounds, he cannot be the first one to touch the ball. However, if he is forced out by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, he is eligible to catch the ball.
Yes...they must have 2 feet in bounds first
I don't believe he was defensive player of the year before, although, he has been elected to the first team defensive players of the year multiple times.
That was defensive tackle Alan Page of the Minnesota Vikings in 1971.
there were no out of bounds. you could run as far as u want
If the receiver is forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, then yes, he can legally catch the ball. If he runs out of bounds voluntarily, then he cannot be the first person to touch the ball.
No, unless there was a penalty or a player went out of bounds.
Linebacker Chuck Howley of the Dallas Cowboys won the MVP in Super Bowl V, becoming the first defensive player to win the award.
yeah, ur thinking of football when if a receiver goes out of bounds, he can't touch the ball first. In basketball, you can jump into the crowd if u want and back and then still get the ball.
Yes of course they can as long as they are'nt on the bench or were the person that went out of bounds with the ball in the first place!
After first down, after incomplete pass, when player goes out of bounds a timeout
No. The first foot has to be in bounds.
No, whether in Basketball or Football, a player may not step out of bounds and receive the ball. However, once another player touches the ball, other than the one currently holding the ball, that player may receive the ball.
First base, second base, shortstop, third base, pitcher, catcher, left field, right field, centerfield
Charles Woodsan for Michigan in 1997