answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Switching Sides of PlateYou are not allowed to switch sides of the plate once the first pitch of the at bat has been delivered
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-30 01:42:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.0
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter switch sides of the plate during the same at bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a batter switch sides of the plate during the same at bat in slow pitch softball?

Yes


Can a batter who is a switch hitter change which side of the plate he hits from during a single at-bat?

noWrong!! The batter may switch sides of the plate as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber prepared to pitch. He could switch several times during the at-bat.


Has a batter ever switched sides of the plate during an at bat?

no


If a switch hitter bats as a lefty and the other team after the first pitch changes the pitcher can he then switch to the other side of the plate?

A batter may change sides of the plate at any time during an at-bat as long as the pitcher is not in the set position -- that is to say, on the rubber. (See rule 6.06b)


Can a switch hitter change sides during a time at bat?

A batter can change sides of the plate as many times as they choose. Just like a manager can change pitchers as many times as they choose.No a batter cannot change sides, unless the opposing team brings in a new pitcher that throws with the other hand.Although managers may make unlimited batter substitutions, the same does not apply to pitchers. Unless he is injured, once a pitcher is brought into a game, he must face at least one batter before he can be taken out. The hitter can switch sides if there is a pitching change, but he can only do it once.Where is the rule in MLB that states a batter cannot switch sides multiple times when batting? I have seen this answer countless times and no one specifies a rule.UPDATED INFORMATION:There is no official rule governing this issue. All the rule books state is that a batter cannot switch sides at the plate when the pitcher is set to deliver a pitch. This means that he/she may switch as often as he/she would like as long as the pitcher is not in his/her motion. There is nothing stating the number of times that he/she may switch sides at a single at bat. That is only a myth.


Can a batter switch bats during an at-bat?

Yes. The batter may bat from whichever side he/she chooses with whatever bat he/she chooses. However, once the pitcher is on the pitching rubber the batter may not switch sides nor bats until after that pitch.


Can a pitcher switch throwing arms during a single at bat?

Yes. A switch-pitcher is allowed to change hands during an at-bat. At the start of the at-bat, the pitcher must declare which arm he will throw with so the batter can determine which side of the plate he will bat at. Each player may switch sides one time during the at-bat and must make this known to the umpire-in-chief before-hand.


Can a switch hitter change sides during an at bat?

Yes you can change sides at any time during your at bat.


Which Switch hitter home runs from both sides of the plate in one inning?

Carlos Barea


Can a right handed pitcher change to left handed in a game?

Yes, but if he starts a batter right-handed he must finish that batter right-handed (or left-handed if he started the batter left-handed). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Would it be possible for someone to note the rule in MLB, or in any organized baseball league, that states a pitcher cannot change hands to a batter during an at bat. This question comes up a lot with the question of 'can a batter switch sides of the plate during an at bat'. It would be great if someone could note the rule concerning this.


How many switch hitters have hit home runs from both sides of the plate in one inning?

3


During an at bat can a switch hitter change sides of the plate?

Yes, the player may surely switch sides; he may do so as long as the pitcher is not in the "ready position" (see rule 6.06),and, shall be called out if the batter attempts to switch sides during the pitcher's windup.(Incidentally, there has always been a popular myth in the baseball culture that a batter can only switch sides before there are two strikes. This is just a false statement). Read your baseball rulebook! Yes, he can. It usually happens when the opposing team changes pitchers. Generally, left-handed hitters hit better against right-handed pitchers (and vice versa), so if a switch hitter is batting left-handed against a right-handed pitcher, and the other team changes to a lefty in the middle of the at-bat, the switch hitter will usually move to the right side of the plate to counter this. There is no rule in the MLB rule book that states how many times a batter can switch sides during an at bat. However, once the pitcher steps on the rubber, whatever side the batter is on is the side he must bat from for that pitch. Per above, there is no rule in the rulebook that states that he cannot change from one batter's box to the other in the middle of an at-bat. The only rule about switching boxes is 6.06b which says that he cannot switch boxes if the pitcher is in the ready position. Otherwise, no problem. yeah they can i have done it before addendum - PBUC 'Pat Venditte rule' Pitcher must indicate which arm he will use to throw the next pitch and then the batter must take either box. I am not sure what rule number in the PBUC that this falls under. If anyone has it please add it for me.

People also asked