answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-15 19:29:01
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does a fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes. If in the Official Scorer's opinion, the batter would have been out at first base had the fielder chosen to make that play then the play is scored as a fielder's choice. The batter reaches first base safely, but is not credited with a hit and is charged with an at-bat. He's officially 0 for 1 on that play.


With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?

It is a fielders choice


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Is it a fielders choice if the out could not be made at first?

If the batter hits the ball, and the result is a force out, then the play is considered a "fielder's choice" no matter how unlikely it would have been for an out to have been made at first base. In the batter's statistics, it is counted as an at bat but not a hit.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


The hitter gets a clear hit to centerfield but the runner waits too long to go to second and is thrown out at second Is it a hit or a fielders choice for the hitter?

For the play you describe, it would be a hit. A fielder's choice is when a fielder chooses to throw to another base instead of 1st base to retire the batter. I doubt the center fielder had a chance to throw out the batter at 1st base.


Can a fielder's choice result without an out taking place?

Yes. A fielder's choice is when a defensive player plays a ground ball and tries to throw out a runner other than the batter. A fielder's choice can be credited when no out is recorded on the play if the official score keeper determines that the batter would have been out if the play went directly to first. In this case it would be a Fielders Choice and the batter would not be credited with a hit.


If a batter hits the ball but the runner on third is tagged out how do you score the batter?

I assume you mean if you're score keeping and not saying "How would the batter who becomes a runner be able to score a run on the play." If you're referring to score keeping I believe you would just note that the batter reach first base as a result of the fielders choice by 3Bman. FC - 5.


Does beating out a double play count as a hit?

No it goes down as a fielders choice.


Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


Is it a hit when an infield attemps a fielder's choice and the runners are all called safe with no errors?

No matter what, in a fielders choice play the batter is given and 0 for 1 in the record books. It is based on the thought that if the defense had attempted a play on the batter he most surely would have been out. You misunderstood the question. If a fielder's choice is attmpted, but all runners are save and no error is scored it's a hit ... since the fielder's choice didn't actually happen.


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat if a run scores on the play?

A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.


How many ways can a batter reach first base in softball?

A batter can get a hit.A batter can walk.A batter can get hit by a pitch.A batter can run out a drop third strike and make it safely.A batter can reach first base on an error.A batter can reach first base because of a fielder's choice to make a play elsewhere.


When a batter bunts the ball and runs to first base and the fielder throws the ball to home plate trying to get the run there is it a hit or a sacrifice as no one was put out?

That play would be called a 'fielder's choice'. A fielder's choice is a play where the defensive player that fields the ball attempts to put out a runner at another base instead of attempting to put out the batter at first base. No hit can be awarded on a fielder's choice but a sacrifice can be awarded if the batter had turned in the batter's box before the pitch in an obvious sign that they were going to bunt. An RBI can also be awarded if there was no error on the play.


Is a squeeze bunt a hit?

It would depend on the situation: - If the runners are all safe and the out went to 1st and the batter was out, then it would be a Sac Bunt - If the play went to any other base/home (no matter if they are safe or out) then it would be a Fielders Choice - If on the bunt, it is determined that the batter would have been safe at 1st even if the play would have went directly to 1st, then it would be a hit


If there is a runner third base and he hits the ball to the shortstop and he throws to home plate and he is safe Is the batter credited with a hit or a fielder's choice?

That would be considered a fielder's choice. Answers.com defines a fielder's choice as: "A play made on a ground ball in which the fielder chooses to put out an advancing base runner, thus allowing the batter to reach first base safely." Even though, in your question, the runner was not put out at home the play would be scored a fielder's choice and the batter would be credited with an RBI.


Runners on 1st and 3rd 2 outs Batter hits a broundball to the 3rd baseman who looks to second but the second baseman isn't covering The 3rd baseman then looks to 1st but has no play What is the ruling?

This would be a put in the book as a fielders choice -- no hit or RBI granted to the batterThen you tell your infield to wake up and make mental note so you can rip into them once they are in the dugoutin order for that play to be called a fielders choice there has to be an out made ... it's scored as a infield hit ... with the bases loaded ...Correction:A Fielders Choice does not have to result in an out -- I have attached the Official Score Keepers definition of a fielders choice (in the example given for the question.. this would fall under section b -- the 3rd baseman cleanly fielded a ball and was going to go to 2nd for the put out rather then going straight to 1st)Fielders Choice is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers(a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).


Does a fielders choice that bats in a run count as a sacrifice?

This is not a sacrifice. It is counted as an RBI though unless there is a double play as result of the FC.


What is counted as a hit in baseball?

If the batter puts the ball in play, and reaches base without an error being made by the defense, nor is it ruled a fielder's choice, the batter gets credit for a hit.


What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.


Where are safe bases located?

A safety base is used for what its name implies. To give more safety to the players, a safety base is located in foul territory. The batter must run through this base, leaving the other base for the defensive fielder to make a play on the ball. Usually the bases that the batter has to run through is orange and the base that the fielders use is white. At all other times in the games, besides the initial run to first base, the runner must keep in contact with the white base to remain safe.


Why are there safety bases in softball?

A safety base is used for what its name implies. To give more safety to the players, a safety base is located in foul territory. The batter must run through this base, leaving the other base for the defensive fielder to make a play on the ball. Usually the bases that the batter has to run through is orange and the base that the fielders use is white. At all other times in the games, besides the initial run to first base, the runner must keep in contact with the white base to remain safe.


Does a batter get credit for a hit and RBI or is it a fielders choice with an RBI if the bases are loaded and the batter hits to an infielder who tries and fails to make a play at home?

The batter is credited with a Fielder's Choice only if, in the official scorer's opinion, the fielder could have easily retired another runner but elected not to do so.This is not an error.The batter gets credit for an RBI.I can foresee a scenario, like the one posted, where the ONLY possible play was to force the runner out at the plate. (Maybe it was a very good bunt) If the attempt to force out the runner at the plate is unsuccessful - you could award the batter with a hit and an RBI.In short, to answer this question accurately, more details about the nature of the play are needed.


If a batter hits the ball to shortstop and the shortstop throws to third base trying to get the lead runner but all runners are safe is this scored as a hit or a fielder's choice?

The play is scored as a fielder's choice, regardless of whether the preceding baserunner is out or safe. Any time an infielder attempts to put out a preceding runner other than the batter, it is scored as a fielders choice. From Section 2, Definition of Terms in the Official MLB Rule Book defines a Fielders Choice as follows: FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal). It is scored as a fielder's choice. rule 10.05(f) A base hit shall be scored when a fielder unsuccessfully attempts to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner would not have been put out at first base by ordinary effort. You won't find many official scorers that will give a batter a hit on that, unless the batter would have beaten the play out anyway. (i.e., a slow roller, high hop, deep in the hole, etc.) In the context of the question posed here, we almost have to assume the question was asked to imply that it was a routine, well-struck, fielded ground-ball and the shortstop made a conscious decision to attempt to get out the lead runner.


Can the dh play in the field in baseball?

actually, they could, all you really need for a game, is a pitcher and a batter, the fielders are just for real games. although the only way for the batter to get out is to get struck out or if the batter hits a "line drive" to the pitcher and he catches it.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide