answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-22 23:46:04
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a base runner pass another base runner?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a base runner touch another base runner?

Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.


When a base runner passes another runner he is out what happens to the runner he passed Is he out or continues to run to the next base?

The player who passed another on the base paths is out, the runner that was passed can continue to run to the next base.


Is a base runner out if he passes another base runner?

Yes


Can a runner pass another runner?

no, that's against the rules. if the batter hits the ball and runs, the man on, let's say first base will also have to run.


If a runner hits and touches base with another runner on base is out?

yes yes


What does ''advance the runner'' mean?

In baseball "advance the runner" is a term used to say get a runner on base to move forward to another base.


When a base runner passes another is play dead?

no, the runner that was passed is declared out


In fastpitch softball does it count as a stolen base when the runner advances on a pass ball?

Advancing on a passed ball does not count as a stolen base unless runner was already in the act of stealing the base, in that case it is a stolen base.


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Can a runner who missed a base go back a tag after another runner has scored?

only if he's black.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


Can a runner score on a fly ball if the other runner doesn't?

Sure. The runner on 3rd base can tag up and score. The runner on 2nd may not even be able to advance to 3rd base, especially if the fly ball is to left field. To further clarify..a base runner may not pass another base runner who is ahead of him..so, if your question means can a runner on 2nd or 1st, tag up and score if the runner on third doesn't, the simple answer is no...however, in a rare case they could. Let's assume that the runner on third tags up, but is thrown out at home and it is not the 3rd out of the inning, then the catcher either throws the ball away, or otherwise loses the ball, the other runner or runners may then advance and score. The batter, though, is not credited with a Sacrifice Fly, nor an RBI.


What happens if no runner is tagged while they are on the same base?

Play continues until either one runner proceeds to another base or an out is made. Conversely if both runners are tagged the runner who occupied the base first is safe, unless there was a force on the play.


Is scoring out of order in baseball OK?

No. You can't even touch a base out of order. If you pass a runner (and touch the next base before he does) you are out.


When one base runner passes another while circling the bases which runner is called out?

"Any runner who passes a proceeding runner before that runner is out, will be called out" rule 7.08. so in other words the runner that passes the other runner is out.


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


How often can a courtesy runner be used in an inning?

Courtesy runners are handled differently from one sanctioning body to another. Typically you can have a courtesy runner for the pitcher and the catcher each time they get on base. If you are seeing the same "courtesy runner" multiple times in one inning for anyone on base then you are likely seeing a base bandit not a courtesy runner.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


What is the difference between a forced run and a not forced run?

A forced run is when the person must run because there is another runner coming to the base. You cannot have two people on a base so the runner must run. A not forced run is when there is no runner coming to the base so they could stay or the could run.


Can a force play ever be turned into a timing play where the runner at third scores before you tag out another runner instead of touching the base he is forced to?

No, as long as the runner is forced to go to the next base, they can be tagged out or the base stepped on. Both are considered force plays, which means the run would not count.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


If the catcher is on third base with no outs can the coach replace him with another runner?

A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.


How do you determine a fielder's choice vs base hit?

A fielder's choice is when a fielder has choosen to make an out on another runner on base when he could of gotten the batter/runner out instead. The batter/runner is safe, therefore reaching base via a fielder's choice. Please note that this counts as an at-bat and goes against the batter's batting average.