answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-04-11 15:23:57
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What are two ways that the batter can be out in baseball?

three strikes and fielder or outfielder catches ball without dropping it.


What part of speech is the word Catch?

"Catch" can be either a noun or a verb. Example as a noun: "That suitcase has a broken catch." Example as a verb, "If an outfielder catches a fly ball in baseball, the batter is out."


Standing in baseball?

I am not sure what you were going for when you typed this but here's what I thought of: In baseball you have outfielder, infielder, batter, pitcher, and striker. Uses: Outfielder: The outfilder stands in the outfield and catches far-flying balls. Infielder: The infielder stands a little farther in than the outfielder, and catches not as far-flying balls that go just outside the base diamond. Batter: The batter stands at home plate and hits the balls the pitcher throws with a bat. Pitcher: The pitcher throws a ball for the batter to hit and tries to make him/her miss the ball with the bat. Striker: The striker sits crouched behind the batter and catches missed balls (strikes--hence the term "striker"). And yes, guys, I am a girl and I am 13 (when I wrote this). ----------1-18-11----------


If you have bases loaded and 2 outs and the batter hits the ball to the outfield and the man on 3 scores but the outfielder forces a runner out does the run count?

no


Runner on third and less than two outs. The batter hits a foul fly ball that is caught. The runner tags up and scores. Does the batter get an RBI?

By rule, there are four criteria for a sacrifice fly. 1) The ball is hit to the outfield, 2) The batter is out because an outfielder made the catch or an infielder made the catch in the outfield, 3) There are less than two outs, 4) A runner already on base scores after the catch. The official scorer has the option of giving a batter a sacrifice fly in instances when all four rules are not met. For example, if the outfielder drops what appeared to be an easy fly ball, the scorer could charge the outfielder with an error and award the batter a sacrifice fly. The answer to this question is yes, the batter would be awarded an RBI.


What is a Fly out?

That is when a batter hits the ball in the air and the defender catches it before it hits the ground. Generally, the term 'fly out' is used with a ball hit to an outfielder. The tern 'pop out' is used with a ball hit to an infielder.


What is pop out on baseball?

A pop out is when the batter hits the ball high in the air but the ball stays within the infield or very shallow outfield and a fielder catches it.


Ball hit under outfielders legs a hit?

If a batter gets a base hit to the outfield that would normally be a single but the ball goes through the legs of an outfielder and the batter winds up on third base, the play would be scored as a single and an error on the outfielder. Depends on the determination of the "official scorer". If the ball goes under the outfielder's legs and, in the official scorer's opinion, it could have been fielded with ordinary effort, and the batter or runners advance an additional base or bases, it would be an error allowing the runners, and/or hitter to advance. If, however, the ball goes under the outfielder's legs and, in the scorers opinion, could not have been fielded by ordinary effort, an error is not necessarily scored on the play.


What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?

the batter is out


How can you rewrite ''the batter hits the ball into the outfield.'' into to an imperative?

Batter hit the ball into the outfield.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


How many players can be on a softball field?

9, not including the batter. BATTER CATCHER PITCHER 1ST BASE 2ND BASE 3RD BASE SHORTSTOP OUTFIELDER: LEFT OUTFIELDER: CENTER OUTFIELDER: RIGHT


How do you use glove and Homer in a sentence?

After robbing the batter of his homer, the outfielder tossed his glove into the air.


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


What position did Babe Ruth play on the Boston Braves?

He was a batter/ first base/ shot put/ outfielder.


What is a putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


What is Putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


If a batter hits the ball in the air and the defender catches the ball what is it a strike or a out?

If the defender catches the ball before it hits the ground, then it's an out.


What does it mean to tag up in baseball?

Let's say you are on 3rd base. And the batter who is batting for your team hits the ball to the outfield. It is caught by the outfielder. But if your foot was on the bag when the ball hit the mit, you can run home. You risk getting thrown out, but you can give your team a point and your teammate an RBI. This can also be don from 1st to 2nd base, and 2nd to 3rd base.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped third strike?

Yes, this counts as a strike out.


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


What happens in major league baseball when an outfielder catches a fly ball in his hat?

It's not a catch, and there's a 3-base award. According to Rule 7.05(b): Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.