I would say that it is a fair ball. When it goes into the dugout they call time.
its a double
Interestingly, there is no official rule about where the home dugout has to be. And the White Sox are not the only team to have theirs on the third base side-- so do the Tigers and the Indians (and a few others too). Some historians think having it on the third base side goes back to baseball's early years, when many players were also third-base coaches; after standing on the third base line, it was thus much easier to just run back to the dugout and sit for a few minutes. But that explanation may be just another baseball legend.
As soon as the runner touches home plate, the run scores. The following runner has the right to third base. Either the base coach or the following runner on third base should tell the runner who scored that it was not a foul ball and he should go to the dugout. The ball is still live.
YES... the ball is always live till the umpire stops play ... if the ball goes into the dugout the runner get one (1) base if the goes into the stands the runner take two (2) bases... if there's a runner on base they take the next open base...
There are exactly 9 positions on a baseball team. They are a pain to count, but here they are: 1. Pitcher 2. Catcher 3. First base 4. Second base 5. Short Stop 6. Third Base 7. Left Field 8. Center Field 9. Right Field Also, just to clarify, a common mistake is where to place the second base man. He goes half way in between the first and second base. Short Stop also goes half way in between second and third base. Finally, Right Field and Left Field correspond to the batter. So, to find left field, stand on home plate and find the left third of the outfield.
For an overthrown ball that winds up out of play (in the stands or dugout), each runner may advance one base. If an overthrown ball does not go out of play but is kicked out of play or by some other means is put out of play, runners may advance two bases. This very, very rarely occurs but lets say there is a routine ground ball to the shortstop and he makes a poor throw to first base that gets by the first baseman and comes to rest in front of the dugout. The catcher runs over to retrieve the ball and, in his haste, kicks the ball into the dugout. In this case, runners may advance two bases.
If the bunt goes towards the pitcher or third base line the pitcher. If up the first base line the first baseman and the pitcher covers first
A player hits the ball and heads toward first. When an opponent fields the ball and throws it over the first baseman's head and into the stands, the player can go to first and then to second. He can go to the base he is going to and one more. The same thing happens if it goes into the dugout. If the player had touched first base and started heading for second when the ball flew over the first baseman's head, the runner could have gone to third. Usually, the runners are glad when the ball hits the wall and does not go in the stands because they are fast enough to make it to second and if it hits at the right angle he can make it to third.
According to MLB rule 7.08(f) "A runner is out when ... He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance." Since the ball is dead the instant it touches the runner, where it goes afterwards is irrelevant.
Yes, the ball is live, so there are several ways the batter-runner could be called out after a walk. One would be if he goes from the batter's box into the dugout; another would be if he goes to 1st base, then rounds it and is tagged. I'm sure there are more.
What do you mean by "reestablishing your self" ... a batter can never touch a "live" ball ...Answer:If you are referring to a fielder that goes into the stands or dugout, then yes the player can come back in and establish himself on the field and play the ball. i.e if a player steps into a dugout on a pop-fly (generally ground rules state the 1st step is in play, but not the dugout) -- the player can come back onto the field of play and catch the ball --- this is the only scenario I can think of where your question applies to baseball
I believe the correct ruling is that the batter would be awarded 2B. On ball 4, he is entitled to 1B without liability of being put, though the ball is still live. Once the pitched ball enters the dugout (dead ball territory), all runners would be awarded one base from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. So in this particular scenario, even though the batter had not actually reached 1B at the time the pitched ball entered the dead ball territory, I believe he would be awarded 2B.Follow-up:I've researched this further, and found my above answer is wrong. If ball 4 goes directly into the dugout, the batter gets 1B only and all runner's on base get one base from the base where they were at the time of the pitch. However, if the pitch gets past the catcher, touches a defensive player, and then goes into the dugout, the batter only get 1B, but all other runners get two bases.